August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Candyland

by tlasol - Jam Entry

Old School arcade made with Cocos2d html5.

A story about Knight of Ashes. Bounded by his loyalness to the King Of Despair, he must destroy the CandyLand leaving no survivors. The only hope for the people of CandyLand is magic portal which takes 10 seconds to activate.



We ran out of time, so forgot some important things, like tutorial.
WASD to move.
You can use skills - 1,2,3 and mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81
#474Mood(Jam)2.37
#510Innovation(Jam)2.36
#530Theme(Jam)2.48
#570Overall(Jam)2.38
#575Fun(Jam)2.04
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06am

I actually didn't get it how to play. But i really liked the graphics!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06am

Interesting Idea. I liked the swinging of the sword mechanic, I didn't like that the art style was mixed, I think it could have been stronger if you didn't overlay textures on the pixel art, and also felt that the round portal zone thing didn't fit in the grass style. There's also no explanation or tutorial showing how to use your abilities or controls so felt frustrated trying to figure out what buttons to push to use skills.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

Little hard to play.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I think the strengths of this entry are its graphics and its overall sense of mood. Incredible work! I do agree though that all of the assets on the screen should match each other in style and quality unless you're trying to create a visually jarring effect.

The narrative interstitials help to set the mood and give context to what you're doing -- and I think it's actually the particulars that context and how the gameplay interacts that is the games greatest weakness. See, I'm some uber-knight (who can't swing a sword worth beans because the sword always points at my mouse cursor instead of responding more directly to my mouse motions) who is slaughtering cute little creatures and saying "sorry". The ability you did give me to impact the world (through my sword) feels clunky (again, because of the way the mouse works) and isn't the impact I want to be making on the world. The way I would like to interact with the world (banding together the jellies and taking on that jerk liege of mine) isn't an option.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I'm not sure if gameplay is properly explained, at least I can't uderstand how it works.. but graphics are nice! :)

sanojian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nicely drawn. The gameplay is a little bit inconsistent.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49pm

It felt a little hard on the controls due to WASD and 123 being so closed to one another. I'd make the controls for the attacks different than 123 to make it a bit easier. WASD is also really sensitive, so I'd regularly move too far too fast.

Good start though.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Not sure how to do something - it doesn't react neither to mouse clicks nor to keyboard

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

the beginning of the game looks nice, but it tricked me. After the menu screens, I was just randomly clicking and moving. Just trying to protect the base. I guess this is the main aim ?

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:55am

I sorta figured out what to do, but it would have helped if it were more clear. I liked the skills. They made you feel mighty.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:38pm

The RPG-like dialogues are great! Simple concept well developed. Nice to see some cocos2d games, I have to try that lib.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]