August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just Desserts

by LevelUpJordan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever Ludum Dare. I learned a lot, made some new friends and had fun.

Hope you like the game, I took on the additional Ludum Dare Tower Defence (#LDTD) from Folmer Kelly on Twitter. I expect a lot of people to have games that last 10 seconds, but I took a different take. I'm no artist/musician but hopefully nothing distracts from the gameplay too much.

Please tell me what you think by voting and/or reaching out to me on Twitter at @LevelUpJordan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Humor3.12
#378Theme3.35
#550Fun2.93
#660Overall2.96
#670Mood2.58
#763Innovation2.70
#797Audio2.04
#827Graphics2.44
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Really fun light-hearted theming. Like I mentioned to you, I have a weird infatuation for how smooth the cones look when they turn. Also, really applaud the inclusion of a tutorial. I probably could have figured out the mechanics, but that definitely makes getting into it easier. Good work!

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14am

A nice, simple tower defence, not bad for 48 hours! Doesn't really do an effective job of relating back to the theme, although I understand how it does. Good humour ;)

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Fun game, everything looks and feels very smooth. The mouse-over coins adds a nice touch to the Tower-Defense format.

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25am

Good game! Pretty tense to be honest, collecting all of them coins and clicking on all of them cones! Haha

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Good game!
It has the best humor of any entries I've seen so far.
My only gripe is (at least on my computer) the time next to the desserts were really blurry.

But that was fun!

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Lovely little game! Kudos for taking on the Tower Defence challenge, and I thought you did great on the art and music. It was first-time music-making for me too, so I feel your pain! You did a great job though.

I liked the theme addition. It was a bit easy to simply reset the same few towers over and over, but I still think it worked out well!

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice job. It feels like solid tower defense and the winding paths made strategic placement fun. I don't think my desert resets were working though.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26pm

They ate my cake!
Nicely done game.

Jacic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I really like the dessert theme! The art was all pretty great, and the game is fun overall. :)

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

Thanks for the kind words. This is a really well implemented tower defense game, I like how you have the set path so you can maximise the efficiency of your "turrets". At first I was using one turret and a toffee trap at spawn, but then I got overzealous and put a few things down, completely wasted my funds. They managed to get close to base, but never in! Nice one.

pikkufighter says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

fun game indeed only thing i wish for is that you would have a image following your mouse when you have selected a dessert to place.

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Everything is pretty smooth, and the graphics and music are pretty decent for not being an artist/musician. Although, the paths made it feel more repetitive, making it so all you had to do was babysit the entrances.

Folis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very interesting take on the theme! And it's quite thrilling too, as you have to watch out for your defenses, unlike in a regular TD.

Overall a very good job for your first LD! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:59am

Pretty nice tower defense game, and a decent entry.

BUT the repetitive music segment was killing me! :(

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21am

Well done for a jam game, no doubt about it. Like I told you before, I don't feel that the 10 second theme is super clear, but I do *get* it.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Nice use of the theme! The cannons needed to turn a bit faster.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:23am

Good game, felt it needed a bit of work on balance (for a post jam version) as I ran out of money. Good use of the theme too having them self destruct and needing to click on them. Sounds will help with that too as I lost track of what was about to run out.

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:56am

Simple and fun, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]