August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Very Fast Postman

by Nitrodeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple sidescroller where you are a postman. you have to collect the mail in the post box and bring it to the post office. All of that, of course, in less than 10 seconds :)
Avoid the poisonous slimes or kill them by jumping on their heads^^

Made with C++ and the SDL library

Diddn't have time to add sounds...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Humor2.73
#497Theme3.24
#512Graphics2.95
#884Innovation2.50
#925Fun2.45
#962Overall2.60
#986Mood2.06
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55am

pretty hard. a little bit more space to the right would be great

Thinkofdeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice game, it would of been nice to be able to see further ahead.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57am

Good idea. I ended up always going too fast to be able to see the slimes in time to jump on them - the alternative of slowing down to a crawl to have enough reaction time seems counter-productive. Maybe positioning the rider at the far left of the screen, instead of near the right (where there's not much room between bike and slime) would be better? Liked the concept though. :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

I really liked the graphics in this game - Very nice work.
I would've like to be able to see just a little bit more ahead. I just keep jumping and hope for the best more or less.

It's a shame you didn't get around to adding sound, but I suppose most of us have to cut down on things, in order to finish.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

Simple and enjoyable game. Could have some features to make it better like; camera that allows you to see where you go when you move and less harsh dying mechanic.

Anyway, good job :)

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14am

Finished the game! :D I almost rage quit at the end :P

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

I agree on what most people above said. Not being able to see more than 3 meters in front of you made it quite frustrating, apart from that it's very enjoyable. And I like the graphics.

leo_gri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Really nice game! A bit hard, but not too hard, and most of all really funny!

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback !
I didn't realize how difficult it was because when i tested my levels i knew where all the slimes were.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

FunnY!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice and smooth controls and flow. The view should have been more towards the front, though. Graphics are nice, and the parallax movement of the clouds and hills is neat!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

A bit hard, expecially for the bad position of camera (it should show the postman at the left of the screen, so you have more visibility).
Aside from this problem the game is fun. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]