August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Freeze Box

by SamC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

10 Boxes, 10 Levels, 10 Seconds.

Arrow Keys to move left and right. Space to jump.

The game is a platformer in which you control a box which freezes after 10 seconds. After the box has frozen a new box spawns, this allows you to progress through the level by positioning your boxes before the 10 seconds runs out.

I intend to port this to android.

27/08/2013- fixed a couple of last minute typo bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#73Theme3.83
#93Innovation3.77
#147Overall3.56
#175Fun3.45
#193Graphics3.57
#292Mood3.09
#367Humor2.61
#389Audio2.83

Comments

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17pm

This is so awesome! The lighting is superb! And gameplay wise I don't see any problems. Good job.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Fun game, like the lights. One thing though, is it supposed that i can kinda wall jump?

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

@Sh1rogane Thank you, yes.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Very cool idea. And the game is fun even at this early stage.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Running mac. I really wish I could play, the lighting looks beautiful.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Nice game :D Loved its feeling!!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Am I allowed to rate the graphics solely based on the screenshots? I want to.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The idea with the absorbtion was neat :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Fun mechanics and really liked playing the levels.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

This is a fantastic puzzle platformer. In level 3 I didn't need a frozen one :) But this game is tricky and very funny. gratz :)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Awesome!

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Really interesting idea. Would've killed for the ability to just freeze my box, as opposed to having to wait for the 10s to be up.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Great lightning, good concept. Would also fit well on the "Death is useful" theme.

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Those light effects are neat!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

Awesome game! Total boxes used: 54. I love the lighting and graphics. Best part was using previous attempts to your advantage to beat the level!

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50am

I enjoyed rolling my box :)

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I like this idea! Good art and effects also :)

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23pm

The game is very smooth - the lighting is nice, the boxes feel chunky, and the controls work although are somewhat fiddly at times. Some of the puzzles/levels were pretty tricky though it got easier once I figured I could jump :/ (you can finish a surprising amount without jumping if you put your mind to it!).

Well done.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

46! Fantastic idea, I hope that android port will be soon, it's perfect... :-)

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Excellent concept, love the light effect but i don't like the music and soundfx :/

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:21pm

This is fantastic! Love it. Great controls and awesome idea and it looks great too! Post jam version could do with the absorbing of other boxes being tweaked. Found that a teeny bit frustrating on later levels. Will be playing through again when I've got more time. Really enjoyed it and would play a 100 level version of this no questions asked (and pay for it, October challenge hint hint)

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Great idea and great implementation. Congratulations!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Man I really REALLY love the concept;
Also awesome that it is about timing and you have to jump at the exact right moment so your block freeze at the right place.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Good use of theme. I liked the faces on the cubes and the lighting effect!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Fantastic use of theme. And kudos on the beautiful volumetric lighting.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

It was great. Amazing visual effects with the light! Also, completed the 3rd level with only one box o.O

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Loved this one! Very frustrating but really addictive and fun. Such a clever concept. Absorbing the other boxes for more time really made the game much deeper than it could have been.

Toadpud says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This is the best entry I've played so far. I loved it! I did find some problems, though:
-I love how if you fall, your blocks continue to fall until they freeze. However, if you fall for the majority of your 10 seconds (by consuming a frozen black you're standing on, for example) you will eventually fall into a black abyss without background.
-Occasionally you see white outlines around the tiles (presumably because of a decimal camera position, but I'm no expert)
-You can jump if you're touching ANYTHING. This basically breaks the game, and you can build up ridiculous speeds by hugging a wall and jumping repeatedly.

Good luck with the Android port! Maybe I'll pick it up when it's released!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Solid job good sir! Very nice graphics and mood. You should keep polishing this game!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:26am

Really nice lighting effects, and the art for the boxes was pretty funny.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

Nice platforming, too much waiting.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:35am

Great game! Loads of fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36am

Beautiful game. Felt the levels were way too big for this idea. Would love to see much smaller, easier to digest levels with 2-3 boxes, and ramp up from there.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Yay! A mac port!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

Wow! It was as great as the screenshots suggested, and not only the graphics! Nice puzzles (probably should be harder and more controlled though), nice controls.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great lighting, enjoyed the game :D

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really well made, the lighting looked great, the gameplay was solid. Sometimes it was a little frustrating battling with the physics but other than that, was really enjoyable nice job.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:25pm

That, my friend, is a winning idea.
I think you should listen to "tigers" and add the ability to freeze your box instantly.
This can be a successful game if published to the Android market.

P.S. if you get someone to do the graphics for you it could look very nice :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]