August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Breathe

by Fede3751 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"These are the last seconds of my life.
My space-ship was struck by an asteroid.
I'm floating in the outer space, waiting for my oxygen in my suit to end.
I've got only 10 seconds left.

Wait a moment... Those are oxygen containers!"


Breathe is a 2D arcade game where you take control of a space ingeneer who's about to die.
Your aim is to collect oxygen containers in order to survive as much as you can.

- Whenever you pick up an oxygen container, you have 10 more seconds to live.
- If you hit an asteroid, your shield is temporary deactivated. It will take 10 seconds to fix it. If you get hit without the shield, you die.
-There are 3 power ups to collect:
The Robot: grants you a second chance if an asteroid hits you.
The Capsule: grants you oxygen for the next 20 seconds, but destroys if you get hit.
The shadow clone: creates a copy of yourself who moves randomly. You can swap your and his position by pressing Z.

For better performances on the web version, use the latest version of Firefox.

Thank you for downloading my game, i hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed coding it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#82Theme3.80
#207Fun3.39
#256Overall3.39
#336Graphics3.28
#351Mood3.00
#436Audio2.75
#558Humor2.23
#798Innovation2.65

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Plays well. Surprisingly easy to navigate

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Loved it :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice and simple game. The background was a bit disorienting though.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Good effective graphics, nice sound, and smooth controls! (web version also works in Chrome btw)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Tried on Chrome. Good concept, but I agree with Hypnohustla about the background being a bit... distracting at times. Survived for 73 seconds. I liked how it got faster and faster.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Nice work!

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Thank you for the feedback, I'm happy that you enjoyed the game! :)
I would like to fix the background problem, but I don't know if it's possible anymore. :/

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

I really enjoyed your game. I think that would be awesome if you put a background music to fit the mood even better.
When I died I thought "Wow. I really made it far!". Results: 38 seconds. hahaha It felt longer and I think this a good thing.

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30am

@hbocao Thank you for your feedback.
I wanted to put some music during the game, but unluckly, I suck at creating music! (and at 5 hours left before the end of the event, game didn't even have power ups!) :(

For the time, it may be possible that you played more than 38 seconds, actually the time is controlled by the main loop and if your computer can't afford to run the game at 60fps, time in the game will be slower (that's a bug I can fix though, and I'll do it soon)! :D

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

This was fun! + Great graphics! :-)

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Very cool game concept!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Cool game, cool powerups!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice little easy game. Good mechanics. Fun to play.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Floating in outer space is always cool. I like the lack of music, it works. Controls were comfortable too.

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

A fun and simple game. I got to 67 seconds. Might have been interesting if you introduced different obstacles as the game prgressed, but good work nonetheless.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice and simple.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

nice controls. really intuitive.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

The controls are really smooth, and it looks nice! A little bit of music couldn't have hurt; you can use generators like http://abundant-music.com if you need some fast. The sound effects work well though! The background didn't distract me at all. Good work!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:53pm

At one point, the capsule wouldn't spawn so I lost my 1 minute streak.

Good simple concept.

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I loved this - space games rock, and the graphics are amazing! Congrats xD

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:41am

Great work on keeping the inertia, it was a nice touch. Loved the power-ups, just wished you could have explained them in a separate window before the match started so i knew what heach one was.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]