August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Turn Fighter Foo

by martymon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

############################################################
# Turn Fighter Foo
# author: martymon
# version: Tech Build 0.1 for Ludum 27
#
# Tools and libraries used - Flixel, Flixel Powertools,
# Pickle
# PAINT.NET, FlashDevelop, Bfxr, Audacity
############################################################

############################################################
# Introduction
############################################################

Turn Fighter Foo is a turn based beat em up game that is played with two players (I didn't have time to implement an AI that could be played in single player for Ludum 27). The basic idea is that each turn has a time limit of 10 seconds in which a player may make a sequence of moves. After the time limit of 10 seconds is up, the game plays back the moves and calculates the results of the battle. Players play until the health of one of the players drop to zero.

Due to the time constraints of Ludum, I didn't get many of the features that I wanted to put in. Future versions of this game may include things such as special moves, combos, selectable characters and different game modes.

#############################################################
# Instructions
############################################################

Player 1 Controls:

w - jump
a - left
d - right
z - block
x - punch
c - kick
v - idle
q - clear move list


Player 2 Controls:

UP - jump
LEFT - left
RIGHT - right
INSERT - block
HOME - punch
PAGEUP - kick
DELETE - idle
END - clear move list

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Innovation3.82
#373Fun3.14
#593Theme3.14
#759Mood2.47
#769Graphics2.55
#774Audio2.10
#787Humor1.87
#792Overall2.82
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Nice idea, too bad I don't have anyone but me to compete with. Will try it later again with someone else.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

Really cool idea - I didn't have anyone to play with, so it's kind of hard to judge, but I wish you would spend more time one it, it'd be awesome to see with nice fluid animations and more sound effects and music.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Just played it with a friend and it was very interesting. It's unusual to be able to see the opponent's planned moves in a rock-paper-scissors style game like this, but the ability to clear the move list facilitates quick replanning. I'll have to play this a few more times to see how this impacts strategy exactly.

Wuhao says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

Nice idea.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:44am

Great idea! I like it!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

That was great.. the fact that you could see the other players moves really forced some quick thinking as well as planning

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:34am

The Player1 control doesn't work for me

martymon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:50am

hi, can you clarify which version you are playing? For the post compo version I remapped Player 1's controls to w,a,s,d for movement and j,k,l,n for punch, kick, block and clear move list.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Funny idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]