August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Factory Escape

by sxaktosxafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What makes time flow? The death of time imps.
That's why those harmless (and armless) creatures are killed in the time factory.
But 10 of them want to escape.

You control a time imp, who can freely move in a timeless world.
When a time imp dies, one second passes and things move.
So, you have to commit suicide if you want to make moving platforms or other things move.
You have 10 time imps to sacrifice.
You have 10 seconds of relative time.

WAD, arrow keys and space to move and jump
p or esc to pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Innovation3.51
#256Theme3.49
#582Humor2.19
#660Overall2.96
#666Audio2.33
#708Mood2.53
#717Fun2.73
#789Graphics2.50

Comments

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I love the concept of the game! and you introduce it really well to the player, well done!

sxaktosxafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26am

Thank you! :)

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

Really nice concept :)
The controls were a little sluggish, and I found it a bit confusing in the beginning, but with some polish, this has got potential to be really good!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

the background not moving at all bothered me a little, look up parallax scrolling, if it had moved just a little bit, i think the feel would have been improved a lot.

I really liked the concept a lot, great graphics, and controls all worked quite well!

CMahaff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Very well done for so little time. Spikes are my nemesis!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

Very good job fellow java'er
Yery Inovative, fun and chalenging
The music it a bit repetitive for my tastes though

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

Great idea for a game. The concept is really good. Some of the hit detection is pretty rough though, especially with some of the tougher later levels.

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Pretty fun. I don't really like "death is useful" kinds of games, though.
"hey hey!"
"hhhh"
Nice debug messages

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Yeah a little parallex scrolling and better contrast between the fore and backgrounds would be great. Love the concept! Please make the jumps a little easier for us mere mortals :)

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

You did a great job with the theme and your mechanic has a lot of potential. The jumping and hitboxes made level 4 a bit frustrating, though.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Fun and original! Great concept

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

I get an error saying that the security options have blocket the app from running, so I can't play..

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

The background was really disorienting. But still a cute little platformer with some nice gameplay mechanics. Nice job.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

Nice ideas in here. It kinda feels like this game was more for "death is useful" than for 10 seconds, but that's not a big deal.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Epic concept! <3 Loved the boss level and the ending screen. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

The idea is good, main character's sprite as well :) I was little bit annoyed by bounding-boxes of enemies, they seem to be too big. Also key for quick suicide would be good If you'll be continuing on this game in future. But well done ;)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Wow, this is a neat idea. The concept behind it is pretty original!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I like the incorporation of the "Death is useful" theme.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Graphics and Sound is really hypnoitizing, Is it possible to get out on the first try (second)? I guess not.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Liked the music :)

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

nice concept, cool puzzles and really fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

good job

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

The concept of sacrificing your lives in order to advance is very very good. Good job!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Interesting game, it is a fun game but i think the movements are a bit too slow

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

I like the game, really good job, controls are perfect, maybe the music is some repetitive, but really good job!

Darklotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

The hit detection on balls seems a bit iffy, but fun enough to keep going back more, Was confused at the start as "moving platforms" don't move in the traditional sense. Good job.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Hmmm... the image doesn't like inside the Java canvas on Firefox :S Work on Chromium though. Not a great fan of Java for web games - have you tried LibGDX? That can compile to HTML 5.

The static background is a bit of an eye-sore, otherwise the game looks good, with it's own distinct visual style. The "time advancing on death mechanic" is also very interesting, I don't believe any other game has done that- at least none that I have played. Hence this is one of the better uses of the theme I've seen ^^

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]