August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minute/6

by descrout - Jam Entry

You are playing a cube which is flip-floping. You have 10 seconds to complete stage but it changes from items that you picked up. At the same time every block has 10 second countdown. But this countdown starts when you touch it. The game is very simple but some levels may drive you mad. I couldn't complete for compo for some reasons and I joined Jam.

Please upgrade your java to 7 and make sure unzip before playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Theme(Jam)3.88
#84Fun(Jam)3.51
#118Innovation(Jam)3.41
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#243Audio(Jam)2.98
#293Humor(Jam)2.40
#313Mood(Jam)2.87
#469Graphics(Jam)2.63

Comments

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

Wow that game is hard! Level 1 was hardcore for me. Level 2 and 3 were easy, and 4 was very hard too (all the levels where you have to be on the edge of a square to land on the next one are quite difficult). Nice ideas with the items, and the blocks that disappear. Very challenging. Good job!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Interesting. The controls are a little clunky. It's got potential to be fun if the controls were improved. Good job.

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

Incredibly addicting.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

The mechanics are really great, man. But the music didn't worked for me.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40am

Not working on my pc. It shows a black screen for a moment and then closes.

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

Hey, I ran your game on my computer (Mac OSX) and I get an error:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Oyun/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Perhaps it's just me but I thought I'd let you know.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

Not bad! Very hard, and I like them minimalism of it.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

469! Aw yis B)

The jumping was a bit difficult to pull off. Otherwise, very interesting.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

Couldn't run =/

timothyolt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

I was not able to get this to run, this seems like a great game. If you can fix it I will definitely play and rate!

Here's the error: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Oyun/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

I did not see any references to your code in the stack trace, so I didn't include it.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

Cool idea. The jumps are a bit too hard since you need to be on the edge or being stuck under other blocks. Good interpretation of the theme

descrout says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58am

Please upgrade your java to 7 and make sure unzip before playing :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32am

score: 449
Nice one. Challenging but not too hard. Level 10 was the one taking most attempts for me :)

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35am

decent one. the only feature I can't understand is how the score is calculated.

descrout says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

Score=Blocks' time+player's time

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

The jumps are overly precise for my taste but I like the puzzle element to it. Also a very good use of the theme.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22am

Great game! I really like the minimalism art! A Hard but still a fun game!

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18am

fun, challenging game, well done

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

I love this game. Very innovativ, Like the sound.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

Good, fun and challenging game :D (too bad you dind't make in to compo :( )

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Really nice game! But i's so hard!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Cool mechanics on show here! Interesting take on the theme. Nice music.

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

And the award for most frustrating game goes to.... descrout! Hehe, actually quite enjoyable! Gameplay was spot on. Only the last level took me so many retries - but nice to see a game that restarts instantly to the same level.

The graphics were fitting - but didn't really catch the music though.

Great entry!

descrout says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Thanks for your comments :)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The concept and gameplay were pretty good! Very hard, though. Good job! :)

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Addicting! The levels are well designed, although some levels are really hard. Good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25pm

512 - hell yeah, power of 2. B-)
It IS quite addicting, and I was happy to see a level selection screen, and you even save the progress which is nice! And I like the soundtrack.
If you ask me, you should have used another background color though. Like a dark blue maybe, or even a parallax scrolling texture of some kind.. this gray just makes it look more boring that it actually is.

rpmoura says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Great idea, really hard!

cobrajs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Really excellent game. Made it to the last level, but gave up after like twenty tries. Control could have been a liiittle tighter, but overall it was good. Graphics were simple, but worked well. Good job!

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Level design goes mad!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Very hard game, I like the fact that the cube flip when you jump :D

Aslai says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:34am

Levels 9 and 12 were crazy

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]