August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A AAA Aardvark Construction Co.

by DantronLesotho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everyone knows the first company in the phone book is the best one, right?

You play a builder who is tasked with building a house for an owner, but all the rooms are tetrominos! You also have TEN SECONDS to build the house; you've got a lot of customers, after all! You have to balance building the rooms while making the doors available to each room and the outside. Be careful about placing rooms willy-nilly though!

I hope you enjoy it!

This is my first Ludum Dare game; I can't believe I actually finished it. I originally wanted to add some AI family members to mess around in the house but time and skill did not permit.

Built in C#/XNA
Sound Effects: bfxr
Graphics: Paint.NET

Note: Sorry about the installation package! It's minimally invasive, I promise!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#166Humor3.13
#277Innovation3.37
#646Theme3.08
#732Overall2.89
#844Audio1.87
#863Mood2.32
#890Fun2.50
#920Graphics2.26

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

I was unable to get it to run. I don't have a lot of experience with xna so it could be me?

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

I think it's really fun, actually! I enjoyed the jokes. All it needs is a little polish (especially in the graphics department) and it'll be awesome.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very nice. This concept is seriously clever. The sounds were a tad on the loud side. Snarky comments and clear rules make this very good. Nice!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

hmmm I cant play because there is no Linux version

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

The first build I uploaded was built incorrectly, but it should work now.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Sorry for the lack of ports :( Thanks for all the comments!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Congrats on finishing your first LD.

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Ow, my ears! :D

This was surprisingly original idea, and the first laugh I got this morning from the balancing joke. Nice job! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Thanks! Next time I make sounds I'll definitely have to try with better computer speakers :/

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

Fun and a really clever idea, but I wish I could see the contents of each room under the cursor instead of at the upper left--it's already so little time with having to constantly look back and forth to like things up!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25am

That is a pretty neat idea that you had. I love building things, so this game calls to me. Also, you did some work trying to come up with interesting rules for scoring.

That said, I think this game does not go along very well with the 10 seconds limit. There is very little time for experimenting, and very little info from the game to learn the rules.

If you want to improve the game, I'd suggest making changes that gave more info to the player. One big example is the final scoring screen: it completely covers the house that I just build, so there is no way for me to try to look back and link building decisions to the score.

Also, the door placing mechanism is kinda hard to get.

But thanks for the game, it was different from what I have played so far :-)

Here is a video review: http://youtu.be/88UXkwzMaDA

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

There is a really nice idea behind this. It's just a shame that the theme wasn't 60 seconds as I think 10 makes things a little too rushed! Also, I would have liked it if the evaluation screen at the end didn't cover the playing area so I could compare the stats with what I've just built.

That said, I enjoyed this a good deal and could see it being expanded into a really neat game. Good work!

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Hey, I remember seeing your blog posts about this game! Well done, it was enjoyable.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Thanks for the feedback! Glad you enjoyed the game. I'm pretty sure I'll make an expanded version and put that out eventually. It seems pretty popular.

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Good idea but didn't work well with 10 seconds... Would make a good puzzle game. I found the best strategy for me was to click randomly around the screen and get lucky... 1600 points!

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

Nice idea for a puzzle game here, unfortunately the 10 seconds theme doesn't really help the gameplay. I agree with someone who said it would be cool if it was a 60 second game. There's not enough time to tinker and think.

Wertle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:09am

It was unclear to me what would cause a door to be created in spite of the text instructions. Some feedback about whether a placement was good or bad would be helpful, or perhaps some preview that would help me understand the rule about the doors. The concept is an interesting one, however. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]