August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Too Many Anomalies

by ehnaton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple arcade shooters with too many gli... anomalies.
Every ten seconds one new appears.
Can u get the highest score?

Anomalies:
Black holes. Sucks everything into it.
White holes - opposite to black ones
Inversion - controls and some object's speed are inverted!
Enemy control - you lose the ability to move the sip. Instead you are moving mobs!
Diagonal moving - nuff said.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#474Audio2.70
#521Innovation3.00
#693Humor2.00
#815Fun2.62
#831Mood2.37
#840Theme2.84
#841Overall2.76
#871Graphics2.36

Comments

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Interesting take on the space shooter theme. Thought I had done something wrong when I couldn't move my own ship, but then I learned to read! The main problem I had is that my ship felt ...impotent and that I am not a hard hitting space cowboy, just a scrawny lad with a pea shooter.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31am

Cool interpretation of the theme!

I wasn't a big fan of the background... it looked very busy and distracting. Same with the sounds.

However, the base idea is pretty cool! Good job.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

I'm trying to play your game but I'm unable to extract anything from the .rar for some reason.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34am

Added weblink for all those, who have no time to download WinRar

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

I could not click on anything on the web version.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46am

Wait till it loads. Just a few minutes.

koe415 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18am

Great soundtrack. It works on the web just fine for me. Interesting gameplay mechanics. Definitely confused me at first. Cool concept.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

interesting fact: this was actually my first expierience in making music :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Interesting game. The anomalies made it really confusing, but I guess that's the point!

PS worth pointing out that you have to double click the play button (web version) took me a while to figure that out!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Oh and I forgot to say great music, really helped to create an atmosphere.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

alwaysinbeta, ill update it now, it was the menu loading faster than a level itself

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

OK, i've fixed. By the way, no code or content were changed. Only corrected one wrong field in Unity!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

The enemy control and diagonal anomalies were more annoying than fun for me. (I thought the music was pretty nice, though. Good job.)

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I was a bit unimpressed at the start of the game, but as things ramped up and everything because kind of frantic I was having lots of fun! The graphics are a bit plain, and it was hard to tell I was controlling the enemies, but beyond that it's a solid idea and execution!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

pretty radical.
main gimmick was cool
music was nice but the sound effects were kinda annoying

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

The anomalies were really disorienting, but I suppose that's the point!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Neat. When from frustrating to fun in the minute it took me to figure out what the hell was going on. Those black holes can actually be kinda useful!

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Wow, there were some fun... anomalies :)

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Interesting concept. On my machine the only key that would fire something was left-control making the game controls very awkward. Should have some indication of what anomaly you are currently in.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Ha, ha! Nice! Plays great, but at some point I couldn't move my ship.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

SpiralCodeStudio, it was an anomaly, when u r moving enemies

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Love the particle effects, but The game broke on me and I couldnt move about 30 seconds in :D , minus the bug, good job

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Cool game. I think some of the control adjustments could be made clearer in-game, so that there's less confusion for the first few seconds of each switch. Overall, good job taking a standard idea in a new direction.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Good entry :) I like the audio. The background makes me kinda confused because of the lines going down (makes me think some of them could be shots coming at me D:)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Really interesting anomalies! Very innovative.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]