August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Base 10

by RustyC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is based on the idea that 10 seconds is only as we know it because we count using the decimal (base 10) counting system. If you counted in binary, 10 seconds would be equivalent to 2 seconds in decimal.

Over the 8 levels, try to get the shapes to cover all the marked "X's" before 10 seconds is up. However, the different shapes have timers counting in different bases and can only get so far.

Issue instructions for an object to move a direction with the WASD keys. To tell it to stay still, use the F key. You can swap between the objects using the shapes using the arrow keys and you can change specific orders by pressing
down to swap to the order bar and selecting a specific order.

Pressing space will execute the instructions and they will be carried out in order. When all the shapes have counted their 10 seconds your time is up.

Pressing escape at any time will take you to the menu. The game can only be exited via the menu to stop the process from running without the window open.

The menu is mouse driven but it has some trouble registering clicks (might just be my mouse). Keep clicking and it will register eventually.

To scroll around the play area, move the mouse to the edge of the screen.

Note: The source is included within the folder, made using Java in eclipse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#378Theme3.35
#612Innovation2.88
#994Overall2.56
#1034Graphics2.06
#1079Fun2.12
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Sorry, no Java here.

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

A great little puzzle game, and possibly the best interpretation of the theme I have yet seen! I thought the puzzles were a little easy, but I'm no good at coming up with this kind of stuff either. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Can you explain more ..;sorry I haven't understand.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06pm

All I see is a blank blue screen..

Reyn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Nice, makes me think back to dr brain. I'v never seen this done with more than one 'robot'. Clearing everything if I failed was a bit unforgiving. I think your first level should have been a lot easier, even though one of the comments state that its too easy, maybe with only one or two objects to move, the idea is to rope people in. I found the mode of selecting between choosing what direction box to fill and filling in the box a bit confusing, there is very little except for the green that changes to show that the mode changed. I would have had a flashing cursor to show that its in 'fill in mode'. Thats my 2c. Thanks!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55pm

good job

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice entry. I wish there were some music.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Concept seems to be interesting but I think the learning curve is a bit too much steep for me.

ShiverGaming says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very creative, but it took me a little while to master the controls.

Jayjay says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:02am

Not able to rate since it didn't work on my computer, I get a blue screen that doesn't like to run.

Windows 8 64bit

aeveis says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:34am

beat it, took some time to get used to it, but nice puzzle game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]