August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mayfly

by targaciej - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DONE!

Used:
Unity (2d Toolkit, Sound Manager Pro)
Gimp
Audacity
Guitar
Girlfriend

That was awesome weekend :) Now I shall rest.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#74Graphics3.98
#83Audio3.51
#156Mood3.38
#272Humor2.79
#289Overall3.34
#451Fun3.05
#536Theme3.20
#674Innovation2.80

Comments

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31am

But what was the objective?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Why no mac OSX build?

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

It just needs a more active opponent, ie. Not Time

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

I think level 3 is impossible. Cool game though.

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39am

Can't extract.

Arch Linux 64 bit

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

Graphics are excellent! Controls also are really nice feeling for flying. Good job making it feel responsive!

I found it pretty annoying that it took almost 3 seconds to eat the cupcake things. It seems like it would have been better/less finicky to just eat them and go on with it. I thought I had to avoid them at first, until I realized that there was no way to complete the 2nd level in 10 seconds.

There should be some more direction on where to go. Level 3 literally just had cupcakes and eye monsters flying randomly, and I couldn't find any of the whatever-I-am-eating things for 3 attempts. Gave up at that point.

Good game overall!

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

Nice music, art, and gameplay well rounded and nice adaptation of the theme!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41am

Good game, I like the mood and the simple graphic style. The gameplay is very original and fits well in the theme. By the way, it's really hard to eat a cake while flying. ^^

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43am

Cool! I love the look and I love the sounds. The cupcakes were ridiculously hard to stay on top of, though. (But you already know that, what with everyone else saying it, too.)

targaciej says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Thanks for comments and reviews, they are great help!

Linux version should work now. And I've added OSX :)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Interesting gameplay, but the flying is not floatey which is what makes keeping up with the cupcakes long enough to eat them so difficult. You could also have made the cupcakes take less time to eat. I like the art style, but that music was really annoying after about 30 seconds. Would have probably been okay with just the guitar, but that vocal part is not pleasant. Could use some more sound effects, like one for when you finish eating a cupcake and reset your time, one for finishing a level, and maybe some others (flying sound?)

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

I liked it. The aesthetics were pleasant and interesting.

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21am

At first, I thought it was some kind of "Explore what you can in 10 sec", and I was like "Oh, what the hell, at least the graphics are awesome", and then I found out those pink things are collectable and the whole thing turned upside-down in my mind, couldn't make past the level 3 though, not because it's impossible, it's really because i'm lazy.
Nice way of using the theme, simple and creative, the controls felt kind of clunky though.
P.S.: the main character deeply reminded me of those Rayman's lums xD

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

WOW I really like this. Please update it after the comp with a smoother difficulty ramp, some way to extend your time and a leaderboard.

Really fun game. I like the cupcakes.

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

This game is awesome! I agree with the others, level 3 was kinda tough even after I realised that you don't have to fly over the glowing grass but could just fly through it. I think it would have been nice to be able to eat a cupcake on the first touch in exchange for more difficult opponents or for the cupcakes trying to flee if you get too close.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very good game, graphics are really great.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

bonus humor points for that singing in the background :D

loolpolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:49am

great art but it's too difficult to eat the candys

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I like the game. The controls are pretty unwieldy which I guess is the main point or challenge of the game. The level after you introduce the cupcakes is incredibly difficult due to how spread out the level is, and how hard it is to eat the cupcakes to regain time.

I like the music and art style of it, they suit it really well.

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice. I like it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice, quite hard after a few levels. Also nice to hear some uniqe music

targaciej says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

You are all right! After a comp I will work on it some more. I think I will remove timer and play with changing a size of a fly's stomach :)

Once again, thanks for comments, I'm learning a lot!

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

That was lovely experience. Almost like Loco Roco in the air.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

I'm super down with this. Hell yes.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Enjoyed this quite a bit - it's a bit tricky in the later levels, for sure, but the visuals/sound are excellent .

fgielow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

Wow! The graphics are just neat, really simple, and yet very well polished. The controls for the fly are really responsive, and nice sounds too! good entry

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Love the graphics and audio. The controls were tight and enjoyable. Wasn't sure about the gameplay? I have to get all the berries/whatever? It seemed impossible after a couple of levels? I'd work on the game part some more as the rest is solid.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Really nice! I've got to the level 4, but I wasn't sure what's the objective there... You have nice graphics and sounds/music. Great job! :-)

Purplescape says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:00am

The graphics are clean and pretty. The flying cupcakes are so cute!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]