August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10sec-10dice

by adekto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

my first ever game here on LD, i am very happy what i got in so little time
game has some gameplay issue's

click and drag the white dice to move them, you can also merge them and they will go further. press r to reset the beord

note to linux users: i let a friend compile the linux version, if it wont work try the source .love file with love2d 0.8.0, sorry for the inconvenience

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#316Innovation3.31
#726Graphics2.60
#800Overall2.81
#887Audio1.70
#1018Mood1.94
#1019Fun2.28
#1026Theme2.52

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

You should be proud. This is a fantastic idea. I wish there were a two-player mode, though, and/or better AI. I didn't get the point at first but when I did, I fell in love with the idea.

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

Nice work!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

Sorry, but I don't really understand the game? What is the goal?

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21am

Great work, I enjoyed your game.

motty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Tried to get this running on Linux, couldn't. Downloaded source, couldn't get that running either. Maybe I'm not running the right version of Love :(

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

Nice game idea! It would be great if you'll add 1vs1 and more content :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

I love the idea. Some music would do no harm ;)

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Very chess-y game - I like it. An indicator to see if a piece can be moved or already was moved this round would be nice. Thumbs up strong idea.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

The game is a good idea, wish it had better AI

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Not bad. :)

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13am

Finally got it working :) (seems to need Lua 0.8.0)

Looks like a great and intriguing little game. Still not entirely sure what the rules are but managed to discover a win condition on my second go.

First go ended in some kind of stalemate which the game didn't detect :(

adekto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07pm

wait a stalemate? dam hadn't tested it for that, also u may know there was no real time for play testing those events, and just getting a enemy in was little bit more important, the game over state is in the game, but will not trigger since the enemy cant overpower you, but tank you very much for all the input so far, i hope to do better and improve my skills

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17am

I can't download the file :(. Can you upload it to another hosting site (dropbox preferrably)? There's too many 'fake' download links on the page, and it's forcing me to download something else as well. Thanks!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

Starting without any instructions was odd, once I did figure it out, the delay between moves was annoying, and capturing an opponents piece led to a runaway victory

adekto says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

whiteravens: big blue download button, and u dont have to sign in to dropbox

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

I really like the mechanics in this game. Is this a known game or did you make it up? Either way, great work for your first LD! This sort of game would really benefit from a 2 player mode, and in fact it might be easier to program that than a rudimentary AI.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

BTW, I was streaming when I tried your game. If you want to see the video, it is here: http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2836994

adekto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Crowbeak: thank you very much, the lets play helps allot understanding what people think wile playing. i think i know how to improve it further (lan multiplayer that is).

alts: as far as i know this is not done anywhere els, but its based on chess, checkers and ofcource dice, i also think 2 player wood be more interesting but that will mean a total redo on most of the code since i dint consider it during development(also the time restriction and that most people here play it alone) if there is demand for this little game i will consider making this a more full game

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

I agree with other people, would love to see this be multiplayer. Fantastic start to a new puzzle game!

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I hate it when people use dubious download services to distribute their games, but this one is especially egregious. Please drop 2shared in favor of something that will actually let me download without having to sign up for something :(

adekto says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:00am

what the heck are you getting another website then me? there is no signup BLUE DOWNLOAD button. dropbox and speedyshare need to sign up or have timers.
give me a better alternative and i will change but this was just my top google hit

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]