August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

EscapeRush!

by SneakySnake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a ninja whose mission was to infiltrate an evil factory, and trigger its self destruct sequence. Your worries do not end there, however.

You have ten seconds to escape each room, avoiding deadly traps and fighting evil enemy ninjas.

Will you escape alive, or will your life be sacrificed for the mission?

In order to elongate the game and increase the frustration, you will have to start all over again should you fail a level.

Have fun!

-- Controls --
Left and Right arrow keys - move
A - jump
S - throw shuriken

Made with LOVE - http://love2d.org/
Graphics made with the Gimp - http://www.gimp.org/
Sound effects generated with sfxr - http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Maps created with Tiled - http://www.mapeditor.org/
Uses Advanced Tiled Loader for loading the maps - https://github.com/Kadoba/Advanced-Tiled-Loader

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Talking about frustration :)
I rage quit on the second stage. Having to restart the full thing is naff.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55pm

MuSt nOt RAgEEeE AAARG! Nice job! I couldn't get pass the second level!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

Ugh.. can't do it.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice but way too difficult.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Just like the others, I rage quit! Great entry though xP

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

I wouldn't say I ragequit, but I did give up after trying the second level ten times or so. The controls seem like they could use a little finesse- seems like you have to hit the jump button considerably before the edge of the platform, and sometimes on the transition to the second level I'd keep moving to the left even though I wasn't holding down the key. Could be that I'm just making excuses for being crap, though.

I'd probably play this a whole lot if dying restarted you on the current level instead of back at the beginning.

BerdiNerdi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:03pm

The idea is good and there's some good tight controls in the game, has a lot of potential :) But as many others I had to give up sooner or later haha, it's a very difficult game :D

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Nice game, but as others already said, trying to increase the frustration isn't a good idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]