August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to escape from Hell

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

Try not to click when not needed, it may cause a bug. I'm working on it but probably won't make it in time.
Also, no preloader. Sorry!

Uses Flash player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#345Audio(Jam)2.64
#460Theme(Jam)2.71
#462Mood(Jam)2.42
#558Innovation(Jam)2.20
#559Fun(Jam)2.12
#578Overall(Jam)2.34
#582Graphics(Jam)1.97

Comments

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

It feels a bit blocky to me : although the controls are responsive, the jump is so small that I don't feel really free as a player.

Keep it up anyway !
Nathan

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Hey, we had similar concept for this entry! ;)
Also i laugh harder than i should in the intro, good work!

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Nice intro :D ... Couldn't get it to restart on Kongregate, though :/

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

It doesn't restart. I kind of ran out of time by the end. I intended to change focus (that's why clicking can bug it out) and to make a restart option but that's far too much change after the end.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Intro was funny! After that, I could get past very much and then I died and I couldn't tell why D: Then it wouldn't restart. Still you did a good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:08pm

reminds me of I Wanna Be The Guy. nice one ember!

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Love the music and background art. Not too fond of the controls though.

raver says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, but too hard for me.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice concept, however game is hard for me too :)It need some of work, but I am hopeful! :)

Alink says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Surprisingly hard, not sure why. The contrast between the different art styles is a bit weird but it's better that the usual bare blocky look.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice Concept, also found it hard, I like the hand-made looking art but found that some graphics just looked odd with it... also wouldnt restart for me :/ I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]