August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Intensive Care

by hoqjed - Jam Entry

*** RECOMMENDED that you use the web player ***

- UPDATE 8/29/2013:
BUG FIXED - dragging a waiting patient on top of an occupied treatment room now returns the waiting patient back to their seat.
Changed second clip board screen to isolate "click to begin" into its own space, and highlighted "click healthy (or injured)" to emphasize importance.

The PC version has camera clipping uses on the side for some reason. If you can ignore it, it works fine. Linux and Mac versions untested (it's been reported that it works fine on Mac OS 10.8 and Ubuntu 12.04).

Created by Dylan Gallardo and Farhan Qureshi for our first ludum dare. Definitely not our last.

- Created using Unity
- Flash and Photoshop used for animation and art respectively
- Music by Erokia on freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#75Theme(Jam)3.62
#108Innovation(Jam)3.44
#118Overall(Jam)3.50
#200Audio(Jam)3.11
#207Fun(Jam)3.12
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#283Graphics(Jam)3.29
#328Humor(Jam)2.28

Comments

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

I recommend playing the web version of the game currently, the others have minor visual issues.

-Dylan

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48am

Holy crapoly - good work on such a tight schedule!

It took a while to figure out that the numbers were relative - that a yellow 2 is much healthier than a red 5.

Good game!

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11am

best game I played on LD27 so far, 5 star.

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great game! Fun to play, with really tough strategic decisions. Nice job.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nive job! Very adictive and good music.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Very well done. Good job!

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Waow !
Really interesting gameplay ! Like the graphism !
Nice strategic thought to have ! It quickly become hard as soon as you lost a room ! Loved it ! :)

Works well on Mac OS 10.8 :)

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

I found it easy to play and really intuitive. The graphics were really nice, but a problem I see is that after you lose the first bed, there is nothing much you can do, it's really is already the end of the game. But the entry is really good.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice game, we were upset when we failed to save the sick people.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:35am

I mean wow. Great stuff. I really think this can go far beyond LD. Please make this into a full game. I'd gladly give you money to play an expanded version.

Think of this: after a month goes by a review process lets a board secure more money based on your success. you can use the money to upgrade the room(s) and facility.

It's a great concept. I am jealous i didn't think of it. This could be the next Papers, please.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:05am

Awesome! Super innovative!

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:16am

Very interesting take on the theme.
Good usage of the music, it greatly added to the feel of the game.
Nice work!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:15am

Super fun :)

I think I saw a glitch where I had both a healthy sprite and an ill sprite in the same bed

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30am

Thanks for the glitch report Will, highly appreciated. Just as a thought, if everyone would also like to mention how many patients they save that'd be super cool. It'd be nice to have more info on how the game is played.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Really a great entry with quite a high level of polish, special mentions to the different feedbacks (colors and such). Intense gameplay too.
You could maybe stop the life timer of a patient as soon as you grab him, I felt quite frustrated sometimes when an orange patient turned red just before I released him on a bed.
Also, closing a room when you loose a patient only leads to unwinnable situations as soon as you lose one single guy, so I'm not sure it's the best solution here.

But still, amazing job.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Cool idea, the music is really peaceful which is sweet.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

Very peaceful game for a hospital! I liked the idea of this game, and the game itself is very well polished. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Whoa, really thick atmosphere to this, captures that sort of creepy calm of people waiting to die you can get in certain parts of hospitals, as well as that feeling off doctors just fighting off the inevitable as long as possible. The calm music with a slightly creepy edge to it just adds to this.

The urgency of the gameplay against the calmness of the presentation fits really well too.

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Okay, went back to see what I could get by way of a high score. My first impression was that the difficulty ramped up until it was impossible, but with good triage and fast clicking I think you can play indefinitely.

I finally got bored and let the people die (which made me feel pretty evil) and managed to score exactly 420: http://imgur.com/pfAPXjU

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice job Norgg! Yep, with good strategy you can play it indefinitely. Nice to see someone come back to the game and want to figure it out some more. Thanks for dropping back by and leaving another comment. Gives me all kinds of good feels.

-Dylan Gallardo

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Very nice game, quite addictive, and remarkably well polished :)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

@Norgg

You made my day, perhaps my week.

- Farhan

brodavi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Great game! Addicting and fun. I played the linux version. works fine in ubuntu 12.04

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Good game! I like the strategy involved in deciding which people should have treatment and which ones should wait. I don't like how you lose a room after each death though as it chain reacts and you lose soon after the first death.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Wow, amazing atmosphere and music! Gameplay is fun, although it gets very hard rather quickly, but I believe this is a good thing.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Great idea for the theme. Once I understood the strategy, I made it to 103 before I stopped because it seemed like nothing new was going to happen. Very polished game

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:03am

Really cool game. I got 35 patients. I wish I didn't have to drag and drop the patients though.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Looks polished, but the gameplay gets a bit boring for me after some time. Having goals would improve this.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:19pm

22 healed. This game really spoke to me as there has always been trouble with hospital beds where Im from. truly excellent.....

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]