Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Et je vous laisse - Emilien Gorisse - Jam Entry

"Et je vous laisse" is about family issues that come when elders die without having everything settled.
Players have to make people talk to each other before the grand father dies, in order for him to have his last 10 seconds of life with all his family around.

I did everything alone in 11 hours except for the music, by Clement Duquesne.

View Emilien Gorisse's journal. | View all entries by Emilien Gorisse

Ratings

Coolness57%
#46Mood(Jam)3.73
#93Innovation(Jam)3.50
#164Audio(Jam)3.21
#305Overall(Jam)3.09
#396Theme(Jam)2.88
#445Humor(Jam)1.76
#471Fun(Jam)2.45
#517Graphics(Jam)2.42

Comments

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00am

Very nice and unusual. I miss a bit more complexity in the family's relationship, but considering the time you spent in this, that's awesome :)

drawm says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Feelt strange and engaging. It's the best ld entry i've seen so far. Bon travail la gang!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice Mood and music, but the gameplay is not understandable. :/

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Very great use of emotions in your game. Music tied in very well.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Good little strange game. I love it ! Bon travail :)

Yakka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

A very deep mood... I left the game with a strange feeling so I think your job is done :)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Really unusual and good, but I don't think it was very clear how much time was left. Loved the music.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Very nice. Maybe I missed something, but I wish I knew more about the unresolved issues they have to discuss :)

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23am

That mood, that music, maybe it lacks some more narrative between characters, but i loved it ! Good job ! :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24am

Great mood and atmosphere. I enjoyed it a lot and it's very well made for an 11h-entry :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I haven't found the solution, I think it highlights well the purpose of futile human behavior in this kind of situations. Very good concept, the game will be better by being little more polished.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I found it tricky trying to work out how to get the people to talk to who they wanted, but eerie and engaging story

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Nice mood, but I'm not sure what i was exactly supposed to do

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

i really enjoy this entry. I just don't know how to feel about the lack of the restart button. I wish i can replay the last part... but without it, it makes you think about life and those who you love. So i guess it's a good thing. 5/5

Spiridios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Certainly needs some polish, but great concept and great mood. I got everyone talking but it seemed like I lost, like I took too long maybe. Might try again later.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

c'est un bon jeux ...très bien mon amis

Nizan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Please polish this game post-competition to improve on the general interaction design, distinguishing between characters at a glance (but keep the graphics simple!) and allow people to skip the intro on a re-try. But absolutely keep the abstract nature of it. I enjoyed building up my own little story about the characters; to me, Charlotte and Catherine are sisters with their own families, but havnt spoken to each other in years. Maurice, I gathered, is a child of one of the families as they had no gripes of their own... and I'm sure everyone has their own interpretation.

Absolutely brilliant, and again, with polish (but no fundamental change to the game) I believe this will be an important part of games culture.

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Hello!

That was a really cool idea for the game. I liked your choice for graphics and for the music.

I think the game is a bit rough in some places:
- It would be nice to have an explicit, even if subtle, timer somewhere: I had no idea how much time I had left.
- Also, it would be nice if the game had a title screen, and if I could re-start the game without having to quit and re-start the program.

Anyway, thanks for the game, and I look forward a post-compo version!

Here is my video review for you (pardon for butchering the French!):
http://youtu.be/Dv_kXWpNlbc

Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Hi! Many thanks to everyone for your comments and feedbacks, and Caranha for your video (BTW i'm a boy ^^)! Here are one or two answers if one of you comes back here :)

I wanted the timer not to be explicit to intensify the feeling of wasting time, getting more in the "guts" of the player instead of proposing a cold planification of interactions between people. The light decreases to push that, the music increases in tension, and I'm ok with people losing the game the first time, but everything about success and failure should probably have been a little bit more explicit.

Having abstract interactions (X talks to Y) instead of explicit ones (X has to talk to Y about what Z said during her birthday) was specifically done to let people project their own back-stories - but also, I must say, in addition to a technical and writing ease.

Adding a "restart" button, plus the possibility to accelerate/skip the intro would have been good too, and the layout is a little bit messed up with the web version. But i guess being unpolished is a signature of such a 1-day project :) I will probably re-work it a little bit after the judging, and add a French version.

Anyway, thanks a lot for playing it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]