August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Unstable TransDimensional Weapon Assassins X

by superfoonly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Unstable TransDimensional Weapon Assassins X

A game for two players by Mohammad Poswal

You and your opponents' weapons change randomly every 10 seconds. Ignore this fact as you try to assassinate each other at any cost.

Weapons-
Pistol: Simple pistol with limited range
Laser Bow: Hold shoot for more power and range
Rocket Launcher: Slow moving rocket with an explosion when it hits
FlameThrower: Shoots lingering flames

Made with Unity3D, NGUI, Pixen, CFXR, AutoTracker.py (MAJOR kudos to the developers of CFXR and AutoTracker, they saved me tons of time!)

Issues: Sometimes if you get a shot off at the right moment you can steal a win from your opponent. Didn't have time to fix

This was my first Ludum Dare, it was a lot of fun. I plan to do this more often.
Have fun, thanks for playing!

Edit: I fixed the web player version so it is hosted properly (it was making you download a .zip before)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#187Fun3.42
#324Humor2.67
#407Graphics3.13
#426Audio2.76
#511Overall3.10
#603Theme3.13
#680Mood2.57
#749Innovation2.72

Comments

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Looks fun so it's a shame I can't try it on multiplayer. :/

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Can't fairly vote for overall and fun since it's multiplayer.

Once I hit player 1 the game stuck and I had to kill it.

Also, .zip is not really web :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

My left hand won from my right. It's now sulking in the corner. The fast arena game with randomized weapon seems like a good console formula if developed a bit further.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00pm

The web has a download? Tip: Host it at google drive/dropbox

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice! need a singleplayer mode! Well done ;)

superfoonly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

@Endurion @bisk8s
I fixed the link for the web player so it works properly now.

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Very nice to see a multiplayer game here. I like the concept, but could have a SP mode and more maps.

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Haha, nice. Your sprites looked cool, I wished they were animated; wanted to see them run and jump around.

Also, with that weapon-switching mechanic, I would consider adding a lot more weapons and keeping it interesting/chaotic for a while with new weapon combinations.

loxo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:25am

Great game for a first LD! I like the graphics and the idea. A computer controlled opponent would be great for single player mode.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:39am

seemed good but needed AI for playing -- nice effort

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:07am

I had other weapons planned but I didn't end up having the time.

Also, this is intentionally a 2 player game, I highly recommend finding someone to play it with (and maybe try some of the other multi player LD games out there) I understand its hard to find a second player sometimes but come on its not THAT hard ;)

ComicSans says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:18am

The web link takes me to a page that says: "Unity Web Player\nInstall Now!" even though I already have it installed. I went ahead and installed it again, but no luck. Chrome on Windows 7.

ShiverGaming says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:43pm

I liked the game (even though I was only one player), but I think it would be more fun under multiplayer (I'm not very good at fighting myself).

yagiz says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Similar to ComicSans, I also get the need Unity web player error. I am on Firefox in Win 7. And, I do have the web player.

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Interesting concept, I like the idea. My friend is now paying me pizzas for three months, thank you ;)

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Oh, and I liked the classic-style graphics, they added a "classic" touch to this. definitely keeping this in my hd.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:13am

@comicSans @yagiz Apparently the "https" in my dropbox link causes the issue on some browsers. I changed the link to just use standard "http" and it should work now

@GV Thanks! have any suggestions for additional weapons I could include in a post compo build?

jwolf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:43am

Pretty fun entry with an interesting concept. If you're looking for more ideas, maybe something that moves or behaves in an unconventional manner? I don't know...like boomerangs or walking land mines, or something like that?

mamoniem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:01am

funny little game :)

urth says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Loved the weapon changing. Just like my game.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:31am

The weapon varieties are awesome!
But I have no one to play this with... *Forever alone face*

Almax27 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Sadly I'm Billy-No-Mates right now so had to attempt right hand vs left hand type affair. Loved the randomised weapon change idea. Graphics and sound certainly suit the game.

Nice one. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]