August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The last time crystals

by Kragnir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are either w, a, d or arrows. Q reset, R load last checkpoint if you have one otherwise it resets. Use space to slash.

There are 2 bosses in this game, some story and some platforming.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#791Humor1.86
#890Fun2.50
#945Audio1.40
#973Mood2.10
#979Graphics2.14
#994Overall2.56
#1092Innovation2.08
#1103Theme2.30

Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

A classic adventure game. Very fun!

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Is it possible to defeat the first boss? I'm not able to defeat him.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Realy fun! I love the character :D

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

I too couldn't defeat the boss... BUT it was nice seeing a boss in an LD game - doesn't happen very often :)

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29pm

very nice

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Woo I beat the boss. Couldn't get past the level above the first screen.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

The boss may have been a little too difficult

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

All I can say is the boss must've picked up a way cooler sword than I did.

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

The game is too easy up until the last boss, and after that it is too hard.

@flyingbear: The knight has Link's Master Sword. Too bad the knight has also been cursed, so that every time someone hits him, his maximum HP is lowered. Thus, however, the sword's power is active all the time

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

very good job this is a great 48 hour game polish it and it will be amazing.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

I hate this boss.
Good job.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

Very amusing, I love eating spikes apparently.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

Wasn't able to defeat the first boss. A healthbar (of the boss) could have kept me motivated. The jumping sections were fun.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Classic. ;) Gives me Amiga flashbacks.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

I'm sorry to say, but i didn't liked that. The boss was too hard, and i can't see how it's related with the theme..

The sprite of the knight is good!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Fun game, but the boss was too hard. The controls are very good, but the lack of audio was noticeable.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08pm

good job. entertaining game

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Interesting concept. I can't seem to defeat the boss, though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Reminds me of I wanna be the guy, and is near just as hard. Good game.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18am

Got killed on the first(?) boss, I think it was reflecting shots at me?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:56am

Thanks for all the comments people, will try to think of a way to make both a hard and an easy version.

A healthbar for the boss is a good idea I will definitely add it.

I am not aware of the boss reflecting shots at you and he should attack in a fixed pattern every time.

Your slash is short ranged so try to make a plan on how to damage him after looking at his attack pattern.

First boss have a pretty big weakness that can be used against him.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34am

Some platforming is too hard and the boss took ages to kill, but quite nice.

Delca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23am

Nice game! Controls were enjoyable, and the story was a nice addition. However, the second boss is pretty tough. Seeing how I come damaged for those spikes earlier, I can only afford one or two hit, and I do not think I've hit him more than twice in a single life.
Still, I liked it. Good job!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Fun, interesting little game. Great entry :D

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Couldn't get past the boss, his attack is hard to dodge.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55pm

You had me at "Give me your time crystals, I don't want to die" : ) There's a lot of cool storytelling potential there. You also had a good balance of ease/difficulty of staying alive with the timer. So far, though, it was always taken me a bit too long to fight the first boss. I can kill him easily enough, but it takes too much time overall, and it would be nice to have the enemy health bar displayed.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:50am

I'm diggin' the graphic style.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48am

The boss took me out a few times but once I learned his attack pattern, I was able to kill him. I think the jumping should be a little more like mario and maybe you could've had more abilities to spice up the gameplay. It was a good game though, good job.

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:49am

It's fun, but it's frustrating that you can't jump on platforms from below :)

redo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Nice platformer! I think that is a little hard, but I suppose that's because I suck.
It would have been better with other obstacles besides the peaks. If you keep developing it, some sfx and music would be cool.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Pretty neat. Although, as stated before, some progress bar on first boss killings would be nice (the jumping gets a bit dull). Other than that - good job.

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:18pm

With a bit of polish I can really see myself enjoying this game a lot more! But the elitist feeling of beating the first boss will keep me satisfied for the time being. Look forward to seeing what you end up doing with it.

m110 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Well made platformer, although the boss is kinda hard! Good job!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Hey, what a fun little platformer! Mechanics were solid.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

lol

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Good work. A bit difficult though ;) I did not manage to kill the first boss. The spikes are very difficult to avoid.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I can't seem to defeat the boss. You really should put some visual feedback for losing health, both for the playable character and the boss. I didn't know if I my attacks were actually hurting him or not.
Otherwise, good job on this.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:29pm

super simple, i could not beat the boss ;_;
nice work for 48 hours though. i could not do this.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very simple but nice job! I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Thanks for the game!

Some suggestions for improvement:
- Don't put "Q" as a reset/exit key when the controls are WASD: players WILL press Q by mistake
- Your game would be SO MUCH better with some simple sound effects! You should try the program "SFXR" for creating those.

I think if you fix these two things, your game will improve 10 times :-)

Thanks for the game, and here is a gameplay video:
http://youtu.be/uWyRWSLeB6g

Kragnir says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

Thanks for all the comments and videos they really help.

Will definitely look into SFXR and try to add some sound.

After watching all of you play I realize the feedback is a big issue with the game, I will have to make it more clear when you get hit and when you hit the bosses.

Will add a checkpoint after the first boss also.

Also I will add some clarification on what the green and red bar represent.

Will move game reset from Q to some other key.

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I liked the old-style graphycs, but I found the first boss very difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]