August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hobaton Kingdom

by Feffers - Jam Entry

A competitive platformer where players take turns on 10 second intervals

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Theme(Jam)3.52
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#314Fun(Jam)2.88
#398Overall(Jam)2.88
#414Graphics(Jam)2.83
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19am

I really dig the idea of a competitive platformer taking turns, could be fun at parties with friends :)

I've played it with my brother and he likes the game too. I felt like the jump powerup wasn't very effective though.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Was kind of wired to play this with only one player. But I see the potential for multiple player. The controls feel good.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

@kristof Yeah, I knew that was going to be an issue with this submission, but for some reason I really wanted to make a party game. Thanks for trying it!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice concept. Didn't really have anyone to play with so couldn't try that aspect of the game myself, but I like the idea of it. One thing to note is I got stuck inbetween some stairs and couldn't get out from that.

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

It's very smooth and I can easily imagine this as a single tap game for mobile. :)

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The running sprite is cute, the controls felt good. Wish I could play this with someone else

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Runner game in mixed 2d/3d, goood

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Very innovative play style. It reminds me of raskulls... sorta. I could see this idea turning into a fun competitive party game.

The 2.5D look is appealing, but the controls and platform elevations don't pair up well; the double jump works differently depending on how high you are after the first jump, and coin collection isn't fluid with speed running
(unless you were going for risk/reward with the coin/store system). Good camera work too.

Very inspirational.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

@Ritzblues yeah, the coin/store system is risk reward. The I did several runs just holding right to see how long it took. In the end if you take more than ~.75 seconds to grab a coin, it's not worth it. There's also another powerup in the game that for some reason isn't showing up that cost quite a bit but doubles the value of coins. The double jump problem I realized too late :(.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19pm

This is a great idea! Unfortunately I didn't have anyone to play with :/ It would be awesome if there were dangers/negative points. So you could try and mess up the timing for the next player. Good work.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

@dook there are! The "Murder balls" in the store let you drop a spike in place, and a player loses a coin for hitting it! If they are not showing up, then let me know.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07pm

No sound, but the controls were tight and the graphics were good. Great idea!

mollymus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I wish I had someone to play it with! Singleplayer got a bit repetative, but the controls felt great and Im sure it would've been fun to compete with someone!

Andresh says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:16am

OMG such an amazing idea. I hope you expand this into a more polished game.
-Double jump could have a better response by allowing to double jump the same height at any time during the first jump. At the moment you have to follow up the second jump right after the first for a higher height.
-Add more platforms so the double jump is both an avoidance skill and a mean to get better rewards.
-More cash rewarding items with different values making bombs placement an strategic decision.
-An AI so single player game can be made.
-A distance meter/display so the players know how long till the race is over.

Loved it want to see it more polished ^^

loxo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great idea, but sadly I had nobody to play with. I think this could be a great party game. The level design could use some more variety, though.

dlowe says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I love the turn-taking mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]