August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lemon vs Lime

by f345an - Jam Entry

This is my first entry for the Ludum Dare called "Lemon vs Lime". The basic idea is that you need to defend your "home" (the bottom hole) from the Lemons (yellow things). You should also collect gems to increase your score. Your score is dependent on a few variables: time survived, lemons killed, gems collected, and weapon swaps made. Your weapon is swapped every 10 seconds.

The graphics is pretty much programmer art since I had no artists to my disposal, just a friend doing pixel art, the original game idea actually changed the second day through but I thought it wasn't feasible and had to change everything back -.- Other than that I'm pretty happy with the result.

Also, sorry for no applet, with the sound it's kind of buggy so it pretty much crashes I will fix this soon. Also I don't have access to a web server since ours is currently down (http://www.akkordsoftware.net).

Anyway hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Fun(Jam)2.90
#309Humor(Jam)2.35
#317Audio(Jam)2.75
#365Overall(Jam)2.95
#369Graphics(Jam)2.95
#414Mood(Jam)2.55
#454Innovation(Jam)2.55
#488Theme(Jam)2.63
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I made the game crash by standing in the bottom corner and holding FIRE. There were so many enemies the game collapsed on itself.

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Thanks for reporting the issue, I'll look into this.

vgcharlienash says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Looks good Felix :)

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cheers charlie! :)

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Not bad for your first entry :)

I like the Super Crate Box feel to it. Defending the hole at the bottom instead of seeking crates discourages some riskier behavior though. Sitting in a corner shooting ended up the safest strategy, but also the least interesting.

f345an says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

Thanks! :)

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Wouldn't run on my Mac (MacOS 10.6.8), Java error is "unsupported major.minor version 51.0". (Other Java stuff works okay for me)

Hume says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

Title screen was kind of awesome.

Not sure how the gun works...it changed to a pistol at one point and I didn't remember reading anything about that in the instructions (although I'm pretty tired so I have the memory of a goldfish).

It seems like you can enter the middle of a platform if you jump in from the side, but I didn't get stuck so that was okay.

Reminds me of Mario Bros., the original. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/c/cf/Mario_Bros._Gameplay.gif That's not a bad thing at all.

"Shiny", not "shiney."

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Not bad. The platform controls were a bit difficult to use. The stage is a bit small for dodging enemies easily. But the weapon swapping is cool. I love the menu.

f345an says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

You may need to update your java to run the game for Mac, jdk 6 and 7 I think.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very good for a first entry, pretty solid!

manuq says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice for a first try! In linux it runs fast until the "play again" screen, which is too slow and I have to kill the game.

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

That's quite fun actually!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Bounding-box of lemon is too big I think -- it leads to quick death of player. The 'score' screen seems to have really low FPS here, the game is running fine though. I really liked different weapons and their effects :-)

f345an says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Cheers ill have a look about the score screen I think I know what's up with it.

Ian says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:06pm

It nice, but if you have a big score the score screen takes a long time and is a must-skip.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]