August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Drone Ring

by mychairhasalooin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rebalanced version http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/21061. The only difference between this build and the former, is more resource buildings are pre-placed before a mission begins, and enemy species split less often. (not that you'll have noticed them split anyway, but just so you know not all those red things are running the same numbers).

Also the game runs awfully on chrome for me, I'd avoid it, to my eternal shame its fine on IE.whatevs.

Manage resources whilst trying to avoid over-extending, in this defense ring simulator, Every ten seconds the enemies mutate and multiply becoming stronger in various ways, also every ten seconds your tireless factories will each produce a drone. Drones orbit your city at a distance slightly greater than the distance of the furthest building from the centre.

INSTRUCTIONS.

You can build by selecting a building type on the build panel with the mouse, then clicking in the main game window, shift click multi-building is enabled, press space to cancel.

You cannot build more than a set distance from the centre, you also cannot build if it would cause your resource incomes to become negative.

You lose the game if an enemy reaches the centre.

You can move the view by dragging around in the top right map.

Upgrades are available between tries, prices start at 10 to the 2nd, and grow exponentially.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#336Humor2.66
#476Fun3.00
#535Audio2.59
#548Overall3.06
#612Innovation2.88
#721Mood2.51
#721Graphics2.61
#944Theme2.68

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36am

Solid TD!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Nice hectic take on the TD genre. Loved the explosions. Simple and nice! :)

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

Cool take on a defend-your-base game. And great explosions. It took me a long time to figure out where it showed the cost of new buildings. And it's too hard (or I didn't understand something)! I had all the first 4 upgrades, and I still couldn't find a way to defend the first level for more than a couple waves.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

RESOURCES RESOURCES RESOURCES! I always build 3 metal mines before anything else, and very rarely build research at all.

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I enjoyed it, I think this could be an interesting concept for a game if it were extended.

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Haha, this is fun!

I don't get how much anything costs. So sometimes I really wonder why I can build 3 small drone towers directly one after another and sometimes I can't build one of them for a really long time. Also, it would help to grey out the stuff I can't buy right now.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Awesome song.

Somewhat difficult (at first, anyhow), but over all very enjoyable.

I would love to see how this game would play with more involvement with the map -- IE the map changes, and has features that affect incoming enemies or your defense.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

Very cool. Either I suck (most likely) or it escalates much quicker than anticipated. I would consider slowing the escalation quite a bit. I love the graphics and the clever take on TD!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

Pretty good TD, it just needs some balancing, but that's for the future of the game. Great work!

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Nice singing :D, cool game

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17am

Fun, with great graphics! At first I had problems working out why I couldn't place things. The explosions are fantastically big and gorgeous.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11am

Very cool. I like the audio, and the overall idea. Would like to see this expanded.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30am

Simple yet Fun.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14pm

LDTD!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

LDTD indeed :-)

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Not sure where the theme worked it's way in, but the game play was solid. Though I'm not a fan of how resource production AND resources were consumed by building structures.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Cracked me up! Cool little ditty and explosion audio! I love the explosions actually. Reminds me of Trex Warrior on the Amiga.

Photon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Honestly, the game makes little sense to me. I don't understand why I can't place certain buildings at certain times, despite my resources appearing to be high enough. I can't get past the first wave... :(. Its still a cool-looking little game, but I just couldn't make much happen with it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:18am

Solid gameplay, I haven't seen many tower defense games this LD, thanks for the challenge

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Had a great time playing this~! The idea of actually using the resource produce rate instead of just resources is challenging and innovative!

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:10pm

This sound is absolutely funny! And I like this simple play.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:16am

good job

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Pretty fun!

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Solid game yes, and the starting song is a funny surprise :)

The game works well, with lots of nifty explosions, but it's also very difficult: seems like you need to die and upgrade to proceed. Well I suppose that's kind of the idea ;)

I'm hesitant to complain about the interface (ours is worse) but I did find the font very small and hard to read and the feedback on selections not to be sufficient.

foumart says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice defense game. I just can't earn more than $3000 even after the first upgrades, but maybe I'm not fast enought. will have to try again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]