August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Runny Guy

by tarsir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry! Gameplay is simple, alternate pressing D+F when possible to make Runny Guy run faster.

10 Second Runny Guy was made with C++ using the SDL library. I started with absolutely no code, so everything was written in the 48 hours of Ludum Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#563Humor2.22
#981Theme2.62
#1016Graphics2.10
#1052Mood1.78
#1141Overall2.18
#1156Fun1.81
#1188Innovation1.65
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

Ahh, the rare linux-only game. Hope this finds its audience :)

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

You need to sort out your submission so it's less of a hassle to run, seperate out your application so people can go straight into it, and make sure your .dlls are in the correct folder as I had to move stuff about to get it to run, which most people won't

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31pm

The windows version chrashes, I only played it like 1 minute...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

To matthias_zarzecki (who seems to be everywhere!): it works fine on windows! You just have to unzip twice!

It's not a very original concept. Of course matching your skills is very understandable, but just make sure to challenge yourself a little more next time, and scrap the first few ideas that come to mind.

High-five for first LD entry though, me too!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Linux audience here! :)
Not bad, would've liked to see more levels, the artwork was fun though so I don't mind too much. My fingers hurt... :/

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Windows version works here without crash (after copying the exe to the parent folder, of course).
It was fun, but I am not a fan of the text screens. (in both style and "cool" language)
Congratulations on your first ludum dare game. You did it! :)

tarsir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Hi guys, sorry about the crashing with Windows, I thought I had it fine. I'll redo that in the next couple minutes.

It's not very original, but I wanted to see if I could start from zero and finish something. I also had a bit of a busy weekend outside of this, so I was a little pressed for time and my expectations weren't very high. A few things are obviously really bad (the Time counter is really hard to read on most of the levels) that I'll clean up in the next few weeks to make it a smoother experience.

Anyway, thanks for the comments! I appreciate all your feedback, and good job to the other first-time LD-ers!

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Quite fun, although button bashing doesn't really make for anything really engaging. Thought the artwork was damn good. Well done on your first entry.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Hehe silly. I rocked so hard at this game it stopped responding for several seconds every time it had to count the score :P

Marcellus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:41am

nice first entry and theme using

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Found the game to be cute, but for some reason it kept crashing on me and I was unable to record it for my LD27 compilation video series. :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]