August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quick! Crook Faster!

by Ossi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hopefully the download links work for everyone. If you see a list of files just click file at the top left and then download.

There's still sooo much work to do on this game, it may be buggy and sometimes the final screen skips over if you click too fast.

I'm probably going to keep working on this game, I really enjoy the 10 seconds theme and the whole concept of my "cooking money" and stashing it in silly places.

This was my first Ludum Dare experience and I'm glad I participated, really really fun! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Humor3.00
#726Innovation2.75
#856Audio1.82
#922Graphics2.25
#965Theme2.64
#968Mood2.11
#978Fun2.36
#987Overall2.57

Comments

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Was a fun little idea with a funny little backstory. :P Could have potential if there were more things to do. Congrats on your first LD!

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

Haha, "crooked crook cooker", try saying that 5 times fast. Funny little game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Nice entry for your first LD. Simple and to the point. Loved the back story.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

This is a great entry. I really like the unique take on the theme, it works really well. Good job with it!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28am

Quite nice for a first try! The backstory was fun, and the game "plays" well even though there isn't much to do. Keep on going!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

Excellent backstory, and love the alliteration. Nice fun game, like a farmville under the gun. Great!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

The instructions seems overly complicated for what the game actually is.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Good idea, was fun to play!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:25am

Fun idea with a crazy story! I liked the poetic opening.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Your skill with wordplay exceeds my own, well done! Simple point-and-click timing game, though the story and gameplay seemed really disjointed. Still, thanks for putting this together!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Kind of silly :]

The Jahn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

A pretty cute game. Great for your first Ludum Dare entry. Awesome job! Congrats on finishing. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

Fun idea!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

The tongue twisters were so silly. I loved them. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOZnQrkIteE

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

@Jupiter_Hadley I took a look at it. Thanks for featuring my game!

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

Awesome title. "Crook" should be used as a verb more often! Looking forward to seeing where you go with this, since it's a really neat idea.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Great writing. Fun game, if a little easy. Good to hear you're planning to take it further.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

Fun and funny xD ... Good job on your first LD game :D

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:41am

good job

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:19am

I'm rich !
I like the text you wrote to explain the rules.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Lots of explanation for what you actually do in game, but good job.

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Haha, love the text. Simple but fun game.

zlowrance says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great job :D

Drabiter says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:26am

Sorry I have linux only, can't rate you back :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]