Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bit-ship Ld27 By lcass - lcass - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First ludum dare and here is my game its called bitship took about 23 hours to make and contains around 3400 lines of java!. No external libraries were used, this is pure java goodness ,enjoy!

read the tutorial for controls , they are abit strange.

---REQUIRES JAVA 7---
If you try to run it on mac make sure you have it installed, Apple dont like java so it doesnt allow it to be installed automatically.

---You must change mode to place blocks. this is done by pressing e . Your mode is shown on the top left---


---TUTORIAL BELOW---

After requests I have made a youtube tutorial just here

-----> http://youtu.be/oP4W4NeaabQ



-----> STORY <-----
Life was good in the year 2078 firmware programmed robots were used on space ships around the galaxy, you are the core computer aboard the ship you control everything. When being given the task to test out the effects of large speed boosts using the oberth effect you manage to generate a wormhole! You are sent across the universe and after lots of time and your ship being almost entirely destroyed other than the nanobots and your energy signiture you find that you are one galaxy away. Unfortunatly that galaxy is riddled with threats bandits,rogue droids you name it.

Fight your way through all 40 levels can you win the game?

As you fight through level become exponentially harder as the enemy becomes more powerful than your puny system can handle.
Use your wit to survive.

Don't forget your borgs, when made they can serve as a valuable resource boosting power, shields and autofiring weapons. Be careful though as they are outdated by 100s of years and are all rusty so take it slow when trying to program them or they might just decide to go the other way.

Build new weapons systems , fight more powerful enemys , develop the ultimate attack vessel.

Your outdated systems take 10 seconds to recharge the enemy has more fire power and shields that recharge faster, Strategy is the key.

Create the Bit-Ship!


sorry for it being low res youtube is being really annoying atm.

press p to start the fights can you win all the way to level 40?

---Known bugs---
When moving left or right after projectiles are fired flashes of the projectile images are seen on the left/right side of screen.

lag can sometimes occur when moving.


---Future development---
So this game has been great, i've heard lots of good things and things that can be improved. I am going to do a full remake of the game so that its more efficient (the way I coded it was quick but not good for efficiency) And I will be changing the gameplay hugely. A post about this will be up on www.java-gaming.org sometime in the near future.

Thanks for playing!

View lcass's journal. | View all entries by lcass

Ratings

Coolness100%
#384Innovation3.20
#753Audio2.16
#757Graphics2.57
#832Overall2.77
#864Humor1.71
#913Mood2.23
#1051Fun2.20
#1091Theme2.34

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Cool game and idea, but was not user friendly.

Senevri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Couldn't get it to work - shows a screen, but no matter what I try, the most I get is a beep.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

This seems like it would be really fun if I could get it to work... could you upload a YouTube video or something explaining the basics to getting started?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

java -jar bit-shipforludum.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/lcass/bitship/core/core : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

Sure. I have to sleep now but I will make one for you guys in the mornin.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

What version of java are you using? this was made in Java 7.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Seems like a fascinating piece of video gaming, but just couldn't figure out how to play. Maybe some tutorials?

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Seconding the request for a video. It looks like it could be quite fun but it needs a tutorial.

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57am

That is a very very neat idea that you have. I love the concept "build your ship, then fight!".

Of course, there is a long way to go for your game to be really playable, and many things to talk about it.

I will try to give only one piece of advice:

When explaining something complex, I think that you should first start by explaining what the "goal/end state" is, and after that you explain how to get there.

For example, you have this huge manual above, but only in the very last line it says that you can "press P to fight other ships", I almost missed it.

I suggest you re-organize your manual. Start by explaining that in this game you build ships and then use them to fight other ships. Then say that the game has three states - and what they do! After all of that, start explaining how building works.

If you have a good manual, even the most complex games become playable :-)

Cheers! And I hope to see more from this game.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

The menu of items to build, which reminded me of a level editor interested me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered showing the keyboard shortcuts on the menu and simplifying how to start, maybe with the first level already constructed?

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

I didn't know what to do, even though I read the tutorial

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

Well ethan I had that as my origonal idea but I ran out of time.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Some of the stuff in there just took soo long.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Ok so ive created a youtube tutorial for it link is up by the links. enjoy.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

This is really impressive for something made in 2 days. It's so complicated that I don't really feel like I can make proper sense of it mechanically right now. Ideally I would spend about an hour figuring out how everything works.

But man, concept and execution are very impressive. I'm not sure what it has to do with the theme though :p

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

all the cooldowns are 10 seconds

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

not user friendly. i dont see how does it fit the theme but it is still a cool game :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I think that a 20 minute tutorial is a bit much, especially for a Ludum Dare game, haha. I can tell you have big ideas and big plans for this one, I hope it turns out well!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Doesn't seem to work on my Mac.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Sergey run it through the command line you may have a different version of java.

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Great game, I like it very much. It's a bit complicated, though. But the tutorial video made it much easier. Only the mixed keyboard/mouse controls remain confusing, because I always forget to use the keyboard instead of the mouse. So I've put some blocks behind the controls :)

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Definitely watch the tutorial before playing. Love ship-building - this is one of my favorite entries so far.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Thank you for the support guys. I will be updating it as a full game go check out javagaming.org for the page on it. will be up soon!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

This could be a very strategy heavy game, but as it is, it's only about "who can patiently wait the longest until he got enough energy generators to create a battleship"
The 10-second delay outside of battles seemed unnecessary, since you have unlimited time building. I had a hard time telling the different factories apart. And why would I make a floor if it only made my ship burn more easily?

But if you made some tweaks to the gameplay (and made it easier to understand), it could be a great strategy game.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Most of the reason for this is time, I ran out. Floors are used for borgs they require them to move on.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Doesn't run on osx (Maybe java version 1.6 is to old?)

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

nvm didn't read that you already posted it wouldn't run using 1.6 :P

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Right, as some previous posters have mentioned the learning curve is quite steep. That said, it's pretty impressive how much was put into this game in such a short amount of time.

The video tutorial was extremely helpful in picking up the game to get started playing. Without the video I was basically clicking and trying to figure out how to control the game.

Now controls should definitely be mentioned here because the keyboard/mouse combo was pretty awkward for me to get accustomed to.

That said, if you invest a little time into the game it's interesting. Complex to pick up though. Ideally the game should be user friendly enough to allow someone to come in, click around and figure some things out. Not everything mind you, but get the gist of the game. I would work on user friendliness on this and future projects, it deters quite a few people not explaining the game in the game... if that makes sense

-Dylan Gallardo

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Really rough around the edges but it's to be expected for a scope of this game to make in 48 hours, all I can say is that I had a lot of fun with it, amazing, well done!

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Thanks for the support and suggestions I will take everything into account upon my next ludum.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I like it.

I noticed you made it in Java, I might toy around with the code for it.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I think the source may be the buggy version with the projectiles not calling the destroy() functions. Its still fully functional go ahead.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Very interesting entry but not the most user friendly, the tutorial help alot, it is a good game but really hard to get in to.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Wow that is a really great idea and a lot of work must have been gone into this. I often thought of making a game where you build your own ship. However games kind of have to explain themselves in my opinion. Especially in a context like this compo people will not take the time to learn such a complex game. But this is a great start.

awppy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I really wish you could click on a tile to select it, as that is my natural instinct and I did so several times, placing tiles I shouldn't have placed. It was a bit overwhelming and complicated, which is a bit of a burden for most people. I think the learning curve can easily put someone off.

I played around a bit after watching the tutorial, but still didn't fully understand what I was doing or what my objective was :(

Laelien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10am

Really awesome. I mean it. Probably needs a little more in-game explanation, and I've got the feeling that power sometimes just disappears when weapons are destroyed.
But it's freakin' awesome all the way. Congrats. 2 days just to do this ? Man, a lot of people must feel bad now XD

lcass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23am

Yer the power is a bit glitchy sometimes. Ha.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:39am

Very ambitious project!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

I have but one critique, which is that your next game have more focus on a good user interface. Good luck!

lcass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Yer, For this one I made it key controlled simply because it was less of a hastle to code. I have big plans for the new version.

mort96 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Really cool - if only it was more user friendly. Some visual candy could do too.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

good job

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

I am having trouble, I think it is not working properly on my end, I would love a gameplay video because this game is very intriguing

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:14am

I like it. A very ambitious and impressive project for the 48-hour time frame. Also, you sound a lot younger than I expected. Good work on this!

I've been looking for a finished game that was something like this for a long time, with player-built hulls, the ability to fly and fight ships in a semi-tactical way, etc. Add in some more detailed ship physics, the ability to zoom out and actually have to aim at enemy vessels, and so on, and this could be a really neat finished game. Thanks for putting it together!

lcass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:01am

I am quite young. All of that will be a feature in the new version.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:17pm

way too complicated for my blood. at least without more detailed controls

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]