August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CaptureZ

by whydoidoit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry, (in)complete in 36 hours...

A game of capture - build fences to surround your prey - but you've only got 10 seconds to do it!

Postmortem - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/capturez-postmortem/

Control the ball with Q W E - the ball can only turn when its moving, W is accelerate, so tap it to corner more sharply. Mouse to shoot at black saucers and to scare the animals!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Innovation3.47
#326Graphics3.29
#352Audio2.91
#419Humor2.50
#439Fun3.06
#444Mood2.86
#471Overall3.14
#883Theme2.77

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

Would have been better if the controls were tighter, but this is a pretty cool game! I'd buy a commercial version with more polish and features.

brobutter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

pretty innovative and fun. good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Cool idea! That turn radius makes it maybe too hard.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

This is a neat little idea. The QWE controls feel a tad odd to me, and a better visual indicator for when fences are out would be nice, but I definitely think the overall concept has legs (also, it's really impressive for 48 hours).

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Yeah to make the turn radius slower you need to release the W key and tap it :)

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

That and shooting with the mouse need to be improved for sure!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

Pretty innovative, reminds me a little bit of some games I used to play where you'd have to box in monsters. Great graphics, too. Especially for a LD game.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Amazingly brilliant despite some bugs and difficulty. You've really made two games here: just fencing alone would have been enough, without the shooting and whatnot.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Pretty nice. QWE is a weird control scheme though, should probably be WAD. Nice music.

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

Definitely something to keep working on! Make the controls a bit more slick, fix up situations when you can trap yourself (not only by making a wall around you, but if you get stuck in between two walls that are too close together) and you'll be onto a great game!

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

The QWE controls are very odd. Also, I don't know why, but a UFO started chasing me, blocking my screen. Also, I'm pretty sure that the music was just some loop from a VST. Also, I had no clue what the animals were.

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06am

The music is a composition loop I made in Garage Band. I WISH I'd used different keys (they weirdly feel ok to me, but given the feedback...)

Shoot the UFOs, especially as they are highlighting a problem in my camera controller ;)

JtM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29am

Nice concept but the controls could do with some work, I like the way the animals try to escape.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

The music is nice and calming, but the colors have a too high saturation in my opinion.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very good graphics.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice work!!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Nice work for 48 hours! Interesting game.

The controls take time to get used to, why not just use ASD than QWE? I kept getting confused.

I also got stuck inside a rock and inside my own fence and couldn't get out of either.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10pm

It's like Billy Hatcher meets the light bikes in TRON! Feels nice to control although my fingers kept slipping to WSAD frustratingly. Really nice presentation, I like the look of it, particularly the fence you build looks cool. Great game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Might have been better with better controls!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really great idea!

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

This was a fun experience

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54am

Really fun! Reminiscent of GO and Tron. Oh and Dots of course! One suggestion though: I think the player should be able to pass through their own walls.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Fun idea, good game. Relaxing music.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Fun and great graphics but not a fan of the camera movement.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

Really awesome, definitely feels like potential for a commercial game here =D

crashbanito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19am

Pretty interesting concept for catching the little animals. It's a super relaxing game to play.

That music also reminds me of the old Spyro the Dragon games. In fact several aspects of this game remind me of that (spaceships and little animals).

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

I like the idea but the controls are annoying. Besides being really strange (Q and E for rotation?), I would like to be able to look around easily, with the mouse maybe.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09am

Really original gameplay! I felt a little uncomfortable with controls, i am more a wasd person..

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53pm

It got a pretty good look to it. I wish the controls was a bit better.
Also I could get myself stuck in my own fence so I had to restart.
Also... how do you get the UFOs.

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

QWE Controls felt a bit weird. Pretty fun though!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Loved how fast it was. Really smooth experience. Maybe the controls could have been mapped more traditionally. I kept trying to use A and D to turn. But thats just me :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Loved it. Great use of the theme, original gameplay, easy to pick up and play. Looks great, sound great. Yeah, there's problems with the turning circle and the way the UFOs obscure your vision, but these are very minor problems.

Love Unity Gems, by the way!

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:50am

really amazing concept. fun and rewarding play.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:47am

My fingers are always going to the conventional WASD directional controls. But I like how the game is very cute and fun!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:43pm

This is a very cool idea! Loved the music! It made the gameplay so... "light". But why not A and D to turn left and right? I kept pressing the wrong keys. Yeah... I'm a idiot. Great job!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:17pm

The fence mechanic is pretty cool, but I was missing some feedback on how I actually perform :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very cool! The graphics are nice, and I really liked the concept.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:52pm

funky game. weird and incomplete but good for a 48 hour competition.

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:40pm

The idea is very cool. Kind of difficult. The sound that plays when you fall into the water and get rescued is extremely loud. Also the controls are a bit strange. WASD or arrow key would have been better in my opinion. Still a cool game.

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very satisfying mechanics! Loved cowherding those little guys! Great job, especialy for 48h compo!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice entry. Was fun to just roll around and jump off cliffs. Controls felt a little difficult when trying to make sharp turns to fence in stuff. Overall I found the game quite relaxing though, and the music certainly helped that. Pretty good entry, especially for the 48. Good work!

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:33am

Very cool game. The fencing mechanic was interesting.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Interesting game. I think it might have been better if the ball moved a little faster, but good job!

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Hey thanks for the game! It is a very novel and interesting idea, but to be quite honest, I couldn't handle the controls very well - the camera moved around too chaotically for my taste, and I had a really hard time trying to predict where my own character would move.

Maybe add some sort of camera control or mini map to the game?

Thanks for the game, and here is my video review - hope it helps you with the post compo!
http://youtu.be/CG3lld8zVvM

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Good works butr your camera is a bit disturbing.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:37am

but this was fun! nice job!

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This is a fun game!
Very different, in it's own way. I like the premise.

I wish the controls stuck to the usual WASD though.

Nice entry!

Jedi says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I wanted to check this out after seeing caranha's review. Once you get used to the funky controls (well I never quite did) it's a fun little game!

I love the modern take on the Tron mechanic!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:42am

great idea, but i would have loved some way to control the camera, it's very hard to hit those annoying UFOs. if you even need those things, perhaps at later levels but the other gameplay is surely enough. would also like to play this without time constraints.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Seems like an interesting game, but the controls need a lot of work.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I managed to get to the predators (the controls aren't as bad as I thought, they're just not very standard), but the predators were too hard to catch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]