August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

00000010

by Vile Smile - Jam Entry

A computer goes haywire when a stray byte gets set to 00000010. Now the world glitches out every two seconds! Run, jump, and wall slide your way to victory in this action platformer.

I thought it would be interesting to mess with how the theme could be understood. When thing I noticed was how the theme was written out numerically (10) and not grammatically (ten). I was experimenting with the idea of a game that swaps between states and I thought 10 seconds would be too long. So I decided that two (00000010) seconds would be better. Hooray for binary.

A most special thank you goes out to Chantraine, a most wondrous artist. Mooseloser, thank you for those FX. As well as General M for being someone to bounce ideas off of.

EDIT:

FOR THOSE OF YOU THAT HAVE PLAYED AND RATED THE VERSION I HAVE ALREADY POSTED, I have went back to the code to fix some of the more annoying mechanics (aka wall-jumping). I also added XBox 360 gamepad support; personally I find it feels much better that way. Please be sure to play AND rate the original version before playing this one as the rating should pertain to that version. Thank you.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7s9vrrgpfuko2mj/00000010-post-comp-edit.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Fun(Jam)3.85
#38Overall(Jam)3.85
#53Theme(Jam)3.70
#57Mood(Jam)3.67
#69Humor(Jam)3.47
#118Audio(Jam)3.38
#122Innovation(Jam)3.40
#197Graphics(Jam)3.62

Comments

duane.byer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I'm getting an error:
Stack Overflow...
gml_Object_objFade_Draw_0

ryan0788 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I have nothing bad to say about this! I got really into it at the end - really well done! High rating :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

@duane.byer: That's too bad. If you see this, wold you mind telling me about you computer specs?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

I love the character design and the "inside the code" theme! Other than a few tweaks I would make on the controls, it seriously feels like a complete game. Well done!!

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

Wow, this is really good! I love the theme and the platforming reminds me a little bit of Meat Boy. I'm really impressed by the polish and amount of content as well.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

The wall-jumping was hard to get used to.

Also, I couldn't get past the level with the specters and lava and moving platform.

The game itself is perfect, though.

link2x101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

Perfect.
Lovely interpretation of the theme.
Perfect controls, although the wall jumping could be a bit better.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

Great game, enjoyed the little code comments.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30am

Wow, this is really fantastic! I like how goofy and fun the whole thing is. Dang specters brought back bad memories of Phanto in SMB2. Especially like the soundtack. Great work!

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

Great game, fun to play and the controls are very tight. Congratulation, this feels like a complete product :).

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52pm

great sound for the menu and i love the grafics.. + 1 for binary time!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice story and way to incorporate it into the theme

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

That was awesome. I got a bit frustrated, but I got used to the controls after a while. I like the choices of music as well! Fantastic Jam entry ;)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

The game looked good and played well, after I got used to wall jumping but I'm not sure where 'ten seconds' fits in

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Awesome game, but couldn't get past the green eye :D

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It takes a while for the gameplay to really get going, but it was worth the wait and it feels complete. Great style and audio.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Cute game, nice twist with the binary. The comments for the tutorial made me smile. Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

WTF intro ? But nice and stressfull game.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41am

This is great. Everything feels complete and really nicely executed, cool style to it too. I love that static effect when the scene changes, the audio and visual elements are perfect. Awesome job.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

I couldn't run it, the start game code was commented out...

Nah, great game. The only thing I consistently had a problem with was wall jumping. Having to press *into* the wall to jump *away* from it was weird. It's a very hard thing to get these platformer controls just right. I never had a problem with say, Super Meat Boy's wall jumping, you might check that out as a reference.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:48am

Wonderfully executed! :) My only concern is the Physics, and wall jump can be a bit painful, but I enjoy the concept of the game! :D Well done, one of my favorites so far!

Gear says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice animation for the spectres. I felt the collision boxes for the first enemies were a bit too tall, cause sometimes I'd jump over them to end up dying.
I also liked how the alternating platforms would have a point when they were all on at the same time - it was a nice change from timing jumps (in other games) before the platform disappeared.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice visual effects, fun game. Good job!

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I love this. No comment! Just plain loved it, really pushed you to play further, I love that.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Worst thing about this was the audio. The bloop sound drove me bonkers. But when you turn on the mute it is amazing.

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:57pm

As you already know, fixing the wall jumping so you don't have to move the direction of the wall will help tremendously. Also, the feedback for when you are in wall stick is a little bit subtle. Consider a minimum wall height requirement for wall stick so you don't accidentally launch yourself the opposite direction when jumping on a small platform. Overall, very nice work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

On my game "Time Trapped" you said "the graphics on the screen were really annoying" could you clarify your statement.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

this was great!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:54am

really fun game. loved the play on the theme. :)

DaggerHog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Controls pretty well, though not too fond of the wall-jumping. Felt like it could have used a bit more work.

Otherwise this is a pretty good game.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very complete little plataformer,I liked a lot the gameplay and level design but I think the game doesn't reflect the 10 seconds theme.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Good game, I enjoyed playing this one

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

Really awesome - although the wall jumping could use some tweaking I think. It's so hard to nail wall jumping! Otherwise I loved it so much. Great work!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

Epic!! Just epic!
Playing through this was just so awesome. Loved the analogy to code. The Final level was intense and satisfying.
Great job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:17am

Cool game, but I was not able to complete it due to the annoying sound and my dislike of platformers.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:06am

Cool fun game! I like it! Love the style and the bits of comment code for instructions!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:06am

I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:53am

@ Jupiter_Hadley: Thanks man! Really appreciate it.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:13pm

There are 10 types of people in this world: those who understand binary, and those who don't. Clever play on the theme, high score for that. Good humor too. It was a fun little platformer, though the countdown seemed superficial until I reached the later levels. The noise for the switching became very annoying though.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Oh! At first I didn't see what it had to do with the 10 seconds theme (I should have read the description) just now I realised the twist, I have rectified my rating.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:30am

I really like this game!
Nice interpretation of number "10" :)
Great platform game with some nice visual effects.
Doesn't like wall-jumping frame animation.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Amazing game! I loved the interpretation of the theme, and it was a surprisingly long game for Ludum Dare. Awesome stuff.

ramoncb says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:55am

amazing game with a amazing setting! well polished too!

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

I love the binary take on the theme. Really cool art, really cool gameplay, and everything felt really polished. The character designs were also really strong, it gave the game a lot of personality. Only complaint is the wall jumping. Great job!

cardboard says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:54am

I really enjoyed your game! I didn't find the walljumping to be annoying at all (for the comp version). The graphics and glitch effects are cool, and I especially like the player's constant smile. The cutscenes are nice, and are a great reward for beating the game. The music and sound effects are nice. I like how you interpreted the theme! Having to wait ten seconds for the platforms to change would have been painful. The game feels polished, and there isn't really anything I can think of that I feel would have made the game better, apart from maybe more levels. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]