August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmic Commander

by UnorthodoxGames - Jam Entry

ABOUT:

You're a Commander, and the objective is to destroy all opposing ships before they destroy yours. You get to do this by planning out each 10 seconds before they happen and then watch them play out. Repeat until victory!

The game will automatically select your ship, represented by a large green arrow, and you give it orders. You first select it's movement, and then which direction to shoot. You then move onto the next ship and repeat until they've all received orders, and watch the conflict ensue.

There is a phase bar to help you keep track (though in hind-site it's not the most intuitive!)

On each turn you can also choose to divert power between shielding and firing-rate, but this is optional (though highly effective). This slider is located in the bottom left of your screen and can be changed during the planning phase for each ship.

CONTROLS:

Left Mouse Click - Place Movement Icon, Place Firing Target.

Spacebar - Confirm selection and move onto the next placement/ship. You can also click NEXT.

W A S D - moves the camera.

Thanks for looking! The jam was so much fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Innovation(Jam)3.34
#150Theme(Jam)3.41
#210Overall(Jam)3.29
#244Fun(Jam)3.04
#325Graphics(Jam)3.13
#360Mood(Jam)2.70
#468Humor(Jam)1.61
#505Audio(Jam)1.47

Comments

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Good space battle game, thankfully there appears to be no friendly fire.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31am

Very funny. The 10 seconds fitted perfectly with the turn based gameplay, great work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53am

awesome idea, i love graphics, but i missed sounds :(

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Really like the sprites :D Beautifully drawn.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice Game! I like how you used the theme for setting up the attack. Good concept. I would have liked to be able to scroll around the view to see enemy ships when making my preparations. Also, I thought my ships were acting a little silly firing at nothing for seven seconds after their targets had moved. :) I did win though. Woot!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

Very nice strategy game. Sometimes I would have liked to see more of the battlefield. But I guess that would make it too easy. Very good!

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice game, there is room for improvement, but there's a big potential for a very fun game :)
Is there a way to move the screen around?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very very nice game, and one which I would love to see expanded. There was a bit too many ships the first time around to really grasp quickly what was happening. But with a difficulty curve well adjusted, or a tutorial, this could be really awesome! (Oh and with sound too :) )

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Thanks for all the awesome feedback!

For those wondering, you can move the camera around with the WASD keys.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Nice, abit hard to grasp but nice :)

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Excellent idea, nicely executed. Would have been great if the view were zoomed out just a little. Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed this!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Good game, and should have friendly fire ;)

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice concept, and surprising amount of depth

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:36pm

That was a lot of fun! My MOBA skills came into play very strongly and I felt like it was pretty easy, but for a single game that's probably good. I would play more of this.

I sure do wish that it had sound though.

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07am

Not exactly my game type, but I get the appeal and it's well impliemented. Specially for LD.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

All I can say is... fun!

Kad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

I felt like a tiny ship taken by the waves at times. Like, "noo dummy, go back, the red ship is running away" =p.

Fun game ^^

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nice job for 72 hours, especially for coding AI.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Insanely fun and original. I would have loved to see that as a multiplayer battle game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

We'd love to do multiplayer, among some other improvements!
Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Nice one. Not a gender I like but I do appreciate it. Thanks!

Feffers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Took a bit to get the hang of it, but decently fun once I figured it out.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29am

What a simple, pretty, and cleverly made game! It wasn't very difficult (I've won every play-through) but the concept of a strategy game that combines the micromanagement and action of real-time strategy, with the strategic thinking and planning of turn-based strategy games, is very cool. Nice work!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

Great graphics and fun game. Great job!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Cool concept. Kind of easy but otherwise a great game.

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15am

Movement its a bit difficult, bet very well made for the time.
Nice idea, very different.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very cool! It was awesome to see this one as you guys were developing it in the posts =D

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

This is a rather interesting and fun strategy game that you have here. It definitely could use some sound effects, though.

I don't want to overstress this, because the game is fun enough as it is, but (for future projects?) consider taking a look at some of the audio tools and generators like BFXR or others mentioned on /compo/tools/. You can crank (useable) stuff out more quickly than you might imagine, and don't really require any technical knowledge. They're definitely worth the time spent.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32am

Thanks! The lack of sound is definitely something we regret, and we'll be all over those tools for any future projects (and if we return to work further on this!)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Really like it, and some sounds and some upgrades for the ships and it will be awesome

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

good job

Jason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Thats cool. I definitely like the turn based approach. Maybe a collision zone around a ship to keep them from getting so close to each other would help keep the battlefield spread out. Would be cool to have a way to zoom out too. Definitely a good base to move forward on!

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very well made game. I love this. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Great game! Some sound would be also nice)
Anyway, suits theme perfectly!

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great idea ! Perfectly fits the theme.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I really liked this, could make for a grat tactical sci fi. though music or at least sound effects would have been nice!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

nice work this game plays quite well

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I like a good spaceship battle. You are definetly onto something, I enjoyed playing yoru game.

tamat says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Great idea, maybe movements are too slow but I liked a lot the concept.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:33am

Really nice game, would like to see more. :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Nice game, reminds me a bit of the starwars boardgame that I can't quite remember the name of.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:04pm

That is pretty darned sophisticated for a weekend game. Cool!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:12am

I just love strategy/tactic games like this!!
The AI still has room for improvement but the gameplay is just pure awesome!
Great work!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Wow! Awesome game concept! I love the strategy-aspect of the game. Great job!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very innovative idea! Controls are a little bit complicated the first time, but after 2 restart we can get used to them.

Mekuri says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:08pm

As you commented on my game, we went for the same concept, so I can only say "I really like the idea!". Good job.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Managed to win immediately after my last ship was destroyed. Love the art, fun game.

I do wish you had some keyboard shortcut for next.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Oh wait you do have one.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:32pm

This big feels huge. Turn-based is a favorite. Good job, but maybe a bit slow start..

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

Not too bad. Audio would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]