August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DynamiTEN

by pedroka - Jam Entry

An awesome and addictive game!!!


A mining company located in Brazil decides to close down because they have reached the end of its reserves. But one of it's workers, called Pedro Dinamite, on the final day of work, decides to do overtime and ends up finding diamonds. In order to prevent the closure of the mine, he decides to go and dig around until he finds diamonds enough to convince the mining company not to close. But what he did not expect is that there are horrible creatures there. He has little time! Hands-on!

Instructions:


- WASD / Arrows: move Pedro.
- Left mouse button: use your pick. Be careful: it has a limited range. The strength and range of your pick will increase when you level up.
- Right mouse button: throw a dynamite. Stay away from the explosion, because it can hurt you. The explosion is increased when you level up.
- <Enter> / <E>: pause the game and show tips.
- <ESC>: return to main menu (when playing).
- F4: toggle between windowed and fullscreen mode.

Tips:

- Dig and find diamonds. Each one gives you more 10 seconds.
- You can double jump!
- Don't leave the screen!
- Collect diamonds as fast as you can. You gain extra score when you pick up the diamonds in less than 10 s.

Credits to:

Alex Ferreira Costa & Pedro Henrique: The game was laborious to develop.

Our family, who always supports us.

FREESOUND.ORG: some sound effects.

GAME MAKER BRASIL (GMBR) Community, where we learned much of what we know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Fun(Jam)3.30
#155Overall(Jam)3.42
#189Mood(Jam)3.19
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#335Graphics(Jam)3.10
#434Theme(Jam)2.80
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

pedroka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I hope you enjoy it.

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I could not play the game, but the images seem to be very good.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Overall, a great and addicting game I am likely going to come back to long after LD27 is done. It could fit the theme a bit more however.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13am

Fun little mining game with a nice bit of polish to it. Good stuff!

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Great work guys! Loved the design and concept. It got pretty intense pretty fast. The jump is pretty high and at one point my pickaxe sound stopped, but otherwise good.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

good job. i kept getting snaked!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Fun game!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Good game.

Livsk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Nice game. Good Luck!

pcmccull says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00am

Speed mining, your game is a unique twist on the mining genre. Had to try a couple of times before I got the hang of it and was able to survive the first few seconds, then it was smooth sailing. It's like you are just free falling and trying to keep up with the screen when you get to the higher levels. Good game.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45pm

nice game! very addictive!

parabens! =)

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

This could get very addictive! The theme connection seems a bit forced, since the time limit (at least for me)mattered much less than keeping from getting scrolled off the top of the screen. Still, graphics and audio were great and the game was lots of fun!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

Nice story and nice game! I feel like the mouse movement of the flashlight (the sensitivity of ones mouse) should be fixed so that the flashlight doesnt bounce around loads. Other than that this game is solid!! I featured it in a Ludum Dare 27 compilation video, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-HQ96z_y-M

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

really really fun game!! i've been playing already about half an hour =)) good job!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Fun game, gets really fast. Solid entry!

murilo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:18am

Really good!! I just thought it was kind of easy and without any final goals but pretty fun! Kept me busy for a while!

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:31pm

2nd place on highscores first try. Yay :P
Interesting mining concept, all I wonder is... how on earth does the poor fellow get the way back UP? :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]