August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cube of quads

by yetatore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Cube of Quads. This is a ridiculous beatem up game!

You control one of the 2 cubes -Mblue and Zred- every 10 seconds! Mblue can shoot strange plasma balls. Zred holds a plasma sword.
Can you beatemall with your cubes!?

Controls
* W: Go forward
* S: Go back
* Mouse move: Change direction
* Mouse click: FIRE!
* Escape: quit/lost focus.

Edit: Added ports, added screenshots, changed descriptions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#343Audio2.92
#352Humor2.63
#617Fun2.85
#620Mood2.64
#700Overall2.93
#737Theme2.96
#811Innovation2.63
#1031Graphics2.07
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

What am I playing? lol. Got so confused by this.
5/5

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

Hahaha, very cool :)

And thanks for the fan art, it means a lot :D

-ENDESGA

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34am

Simple but rather fun. Also the sword clips through the walls.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02am

The sword dont react with walls, because otherwise the game comes unplayable... This deserve the phrase: "Es lo hay valor" XD

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19am

This is epic in the best sense of the word! Love the fact that it's called Cube of quads :-)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20am

Simple but fun. The camera seemed a bit high, but I got used to it. The sword clipping was noticeable.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36am

Haha this was fun!
Only thing, fricken no strafe grrr...

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37am

Haha this was fun!
Only thing, fricken no strafe grrr...
The ending was funny, after all that!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57am

Newgrounds link wouldnt load the game and the windows link is broken. Please fix as i would love to take a look at this one! :)

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34am

Weird idea ! As Zephyr89, simple but rather fun.

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

Pretty fun concept there, nice interpretation of the theme! I just don't know what happened in the end... :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Hah, the music is sooo epic! Well done!

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

DesignerNap: Mmm, twice Newgrounds and the Windows link are working =/ ... Internet problems maybe?

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

Quite entertaining and fun, although I wasn't a huge fan of the camera perspective. I liked the laser sword, and the music was bad ass.

aayars says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Enemies only spawned for the first few waves.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17am

Liked the music and use of theme but I'm not really a fan of the game itself. This game exemplifies a negative stigma associated with games made in Unity. This happens when games feature no art and only uses default prefabs and lighting.

It's a more acceptable approach in a game jam where there's limited time for art assets, but still, you can't express your creativity when you don't at least attempt to make art for your game.

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:19am

The music was nice! The rest was ok.

yetatore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:33am

aayars: You have to move to the next room ;)

Broxxar: You're right, I should not enter with Unity3d, 2d games are faster to develop and tweak... And I can make bizarre 2d art... But, I learn this at the road =)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07am

Interesting game, a bit repetitive. Didn't understand the ending.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10am

Loved the music, and I have to agree, strafe for this game would be a must! :)

Acr1m says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32am

Hey yetatore, nice work for your first Ludum! I actually enjoyed this one.

Don't worry about using Unity for your Ludum Dare project, you can make a "2D" game with it just as fine as any other 2D game engine, which it looks like you won't have any problems with coding it.

I teamed up with a buddy and we made a Unity game too, check it out here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=26384

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:04am

Haha, que idea, me gusta mucho, solo el control de los bloques es un poco raro, pienso tambien que seria mejor con strafe.
Y la musica... lo mejor de todo, perfecto para este tipo de juego.
Thumbs up.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Got it finally! :) played through and complete. Good fun and nice change of perspective. well done!

CMaster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Heh, kinda entertaining, although for most of it I thought the player couldn't take damage.

Also, did you really make that music in the 48 hours? Sounds like it is using samples...

Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:11am

Pretty funny stuff, the music hits the right mood. :) Though I'm with CMaster, if you didn't make the music that would be against the rules. If you *did* make the music, consider this a compliment.

yetatore says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

Wow! I made the music from scratch in 3 hours.
I used FLStudio + RealLPC (guitar) + GuitarRig5 (efects) + Various FlStudio Plugins.

In my Postmortem I wrote an explanation of the composing process =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]