August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ship Escape

by pcmccull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help Bob escape the sinking ship. Drag him to the nearest stairs. You only have ten seconds to complete each level. However, time only runs out while you are actually moving Bob. So let go of him to stop the time.

Android version: http://mccullickgames.com/ludumdare/ShipEscape.apk

Developed using:
- Libgdx
- Eclipse
- Inkscape
- Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#492Innovation3.05
#593Theme3.14
#666Fun2.79
#756Humor1.93
#758Overall2.86
#789Graphics2.50
#814Mood2.40
#915Audio1.53

Comments

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Impossible Achieved, very clean graphics

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very awesome work! I like how it's kind of "turn-based" in that time only passes when you're dragging. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice and simple!

Radnen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

Solid game, but frantic! When I move the cursor around on a desktop computer it will slip off, but that's a slight issue nevertheless.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

It took me something like 10 seconds :D .. to find out how to play this. Great idea!

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

How to run this game on Window?

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice and clean work!

pcmccull says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

To run in on Windows, you need to have Java installed. Then you should be able to just double click the .jar file to run it.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Works well on a tochscreen! Liked the concept!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The character would sometimes glitch through walls. Apart from that, nice little game. :)

pedroka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

A good and simple game. Good work.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

I like the game, very simple and well done; good use of the theme. I included it in part 2 of my LD27 compilation, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Simple and fun! I ended up exploring the entire floor before achieving the impossible.

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14am

Cool!

Canobie says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very cool! Original and well executed!

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

Yes, thank your wife for letting you make this really good game for us =)

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54am

Great idea for controlling! Ideally, the water should rise only when I move the character, not by holding my mouse button down. Just a suggestion though, the game's good none-of-the-less!

thegrimace says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14am

The clicking was a bit tedious, but it was a neat idea. Just so you know, you can drag him far beyond the window and it doesn't seem to complain, which can let you drop him behind walls. I may have cheated a bit on Level 6 >_>

farmergnome says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38am

Simple but very well done, very enjoyable!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

The graphics are very nice. A bit glitchy but very solid entry!

pcmccull says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52am

@thegrimace Thanks for pointing out the problem. I really didn't test for that during development. I assumed that players would be on a phone and couldn't drag outside the play area. Guess I should limit the drag area to the visible space to make it work on the desktop :)

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

A little glitchy but a nice design and a smart concept. Good work!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Solid and interesting game. Good work for 48h. (:

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:15am

Managed to beat it without wall-glitching ^_^
It took me a while to find out to know where to go in lv6. (Thanks soooo much for not letting me restart at level 1 upon drowning - and purposefully walking into the electrical machine)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]