August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dwarf Wars

by Falcon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Dwarf Wars, my first ever Ludum Dare entry.

You must take on the role of a company of dwarves who must drive an evil band of orcs from their halls while defending their king. It is a turn-based strategy game with a 10 second time limit per turn, keeping the game moving and leaving little time for the indecisive.

CONTROLS: The entire game is controlled with the mouse. There is also a handy built-in tutorial that explains everything you need to know to play.

IDE used: Game Maker Studio Professional Edition
Other software used: Anvil Studios, sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#150Audio3.30
#158Overall3.54
#193Mood3.29
#193Graphics3.57
#451Fun3.05
#500Humor2.31
#587Innovation2.91
#616Theme3.12

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

The game was well done, the music and sfx were nice although pretty loud, I wish you had put in an options menu. I played a full round which took quite a while. It was pretty difficult for me. I didn't realize why I was losing to the enemy so much until I figured out they were sending out guards not berserkers. The game was very polished I must say. I hope you put in a hotseat mode. :)

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

Thank you very much for the kind compliment. I unfortunately did not have time to add a hotseat mode during the compo, but that may be a future addition.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

I might be doing something wrong, but I get an error message when I try to open the game: "...Dwarf Wars.exe is not a valid Win32 Application."

bhopkins says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

I'm having an issue running this, I start the exe and I can see DwarfWars running in process manager, but there's no window. On win7, any ideas?

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Aww, I'd love to play this, but I'm running Linux. Looks super cool, though!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Gives me DLL error then freezes my pc. Too bad, screenshots look quite lovely.

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Great work! Really ambitious project and well executed. I like the graphics alot, the gameplay however was quite slow, it was something like 20 turns before I saw the orcs.

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Really solid game. The beginning felt really slow but once the pieces met at the center of the board, wow that was fun.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

To those having technical problems running/playing my game, I'm sorry about that. I'm not sure what happened; I might pop out my other laptop (win7 OS) and test it out there. I made the game on a win8 OS laptop, so that may be the issue, not really sure.

For anyone who can't run the game, can I get some info like what OS you're on, 32 or 64 bit, specific errors, etc?

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fun! Intense because of the 10 seconds, but I have to say it'd be more fun as a tactics game without it :/. Clearly a well put together game though, well done!

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Great little game! I really enjoyed spawning units and attacking the enemy. I think you got a lot of game here for having only spent 2 days on it! As a slight improvment, I would probably make the game world smaller to quicken the pace.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Nice game, takes a while to get going though

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

It probably would play better from a strategy standpoint if there were an option to disable the timer. Maybe I'll add that option later.
Also, as for the maps, I would have liked to have had multiple map choices, but simply didn't have the time to add that in.
Thanks for playing, guys!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Planning the moves of the dwarves interested me and the music and fantasy miniature graphics fascinated me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered starting with encountering an easy monster on the second turn?

mitkus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Well executed, ambitious game. Not sure the timer makes game any better tough. Still, very impressive - well done!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

The graphic and sound work on this are astonishing. Great job! I do agree that the theme feels a little forced upon the game, and that it is somewhat slow-paced and that damages replayability and how likely I am to play through it - just an observation for the next time you participate. Really well done nonetheless! It's plain to see that you made a great job :)

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Liked it a lot.
Loved graphics and sounds! :)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

The frame rate was slow as to be unplayable after a while in. And I don't think the concept works very well as a strategy, it makes offense obnoxiously difficult to sustain.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I haven't encountered a frame rate slowdown, that's very odd. Sorry about that.
Thanks for playing anyways, and for leaving a comment. :)

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Great game :) Couldnt find any big faults with it myself.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Very very neat game, just really difficult.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I'm too getting errors like the other, i'm using win 7 ultimate

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Alright, thanks for telling me. I'll go pull out my Windows 7 laptop and see if I can't figure out what's going on. Sorry about that.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Ok, I uploaded another version after cleaning the code and recompiling. This might work better; please post if you are having issues playing the game as I need to know if this is working now or not.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Wow! This is very neat. I might keep this on my computer to play every now and then. A hotseat mode would be incredible.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Seems fun

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I'm getting a 503 error when trying to download it, is it just me? I'm using chrome for a web browser on a win7 system

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Try redownloading. It just worked a moment ago for me.
As for the technical difficulties, I believe I've figured it out. It only runs on 64-bit operating systems, not 32-bit operating systems. I'll try to get it working on 32-bit soon.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

(Please ignore the double-post. ^_^)

Hooray! I got it to run on 32-bit operating systems! It should be working on all Windows computers XP or newer.
Please post here if you still cannot run it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Really nice and polished work!

DY says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great game. Its hard to do everything in 10 sec, but its still great

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

Very fun! I was really bad at it though.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

I'm not a fan of turn-based strategic games, and add a time limit for the turn made this maybe worse.. But the idea is very original! It's just a personal problem, i think..

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

A very solid well put together package of dwarven fun!

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Loved it! The tutorial is a bit lengthy, but i like that it's skipable.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very solid game. I have a lot of fun with him. After some time the music becomes a bit tiresome, but game's overall is positive ;)

My only "downside" is my bad luck, ha ha. Seems that my assassins fail againts the guards and I can't cath the king.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Great game, not necessarily powerful graphics but the jewel is in the gameplay. I felt like i was playing Dungeons & Dragons. Well done mate! :)

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Pretty fine game. I played lot of time. Music and sound are very good. Gratz for this game.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I like the visual style, it felt very clean. Only issue I had was I didn't feel the timer added anything to the gameplay!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30am

That was a really good play, heavy lotr vibes too. The ending music was a little dramatic for the gameplay but it still enjoyed it. Really nice game good job.

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Really fun game, with some more levels this would be a perfect mobile app!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

TACTICS! Really dig this. However, it would be much better with smaller maps, I guess (since increasing the movement speed of the pieces would ruin the gameplay as it is).

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:39pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFipXTP7vVU - My first impressions of the game ^^

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

The game was a bit too slow for my tastes, especially since you could only move one space per turn with two of your units, and the field was so incredibly large. The music was very good, and the graphics wern't bad either!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]