August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Missile Mayhem

by JLeybovich - Jam Entry

Switches between evasion and destruction gameplay every 10 seconds.

Ride a missile through traffic and then destroy robots in space using mouse or keyboard.

1 Artist, 1 Programmer, 1 General Assistant.

We work at an awesome game company, Scopely :)

*Update 8/27/13: Fixed Animation Collision Bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#72Graphics(Jam)4.17
#80Audio(Jam)3.57
#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#191Fun(Jam)3.17
#192Overall(Jam)3.34
#219Mood(Jam)3.12
#262Humor(Jam)2.50
#393Innovation(Jam)2.72

Comments

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:43am

GREAT WORK GUYS! :D

Lizzip says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Very cool. Great art, sound and gameplay

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice game, could easily have been an arcade game :D

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

The good: Fantastic artwork, addictive sound effects, hectic gameplay.

The bad: Maybe it's just me, but controls felt a bit fuzzy at times (controlling cars with keyboard, and aiming with either mouse or keyboard, especially towards the bottom)

The ugly: Just wanted to complete my reference, nothing ugly about your game ;)

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice graphics, two minigames inside, cool!

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Looks and sounds absolutely stunning, but the gameplay gets old pretty quickly - after the first couple of times through the sequences it didn't really feel like I was in any danger.

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Really good sound and graphics, nice job!

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very cool. Snazzy graphics and a wicked soundtrack. Riding a missile is always awesome.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Loved it, It feel really epic. I want to know more about this character.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very nice ! I especially loved the graphic style and animations/FX the character really has something :)

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Captured mayhem very well, but as Vasileiadis said, the controls were a bit wonky.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

REALLY good graphics. Like seriously good job. I only made it to round 2 because I suck but this game was cool.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11am

Action-packed! Loved the 2 levels. Graphics + audio were intense! Reminded me of one of the Contra games.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:11am

I want badly to play it, but I don't want to install the Unity Web Player.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I really dig the gameplay variety, and everything looks really good!

A louder sound effect when you crash into cars would be nice.

Great work there!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:59am

Nice and simple action-packed game. Lovely graphics and good sounds. Good job :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Different game in one - it's cool! I like it!

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Amazing audio and graphics

Andresh says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:10am

Great art would like to see some power-ups or something to recover health.

Also if you are going to use mouse for aiming track it at the mouse position and not its movements, aim tends to get off otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]