August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flash of Light

by apaneske - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to find the exit of each level.

Game uses Love2d, https://www.love2d.org
Sounds are done with cfxr, http://thirdcog.eu/apps/cfxr
Music with autotracker, https://github.com/wibblymat/ld24/blob/master/autotracker.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#338Audio2.93
#521Innovation3.00
#620Theme3.11
#647Mood2.61
#724Overall2.90
#788Fun2.66
#879Humor1.68
#979Graphics2.14

Comments

iyzsong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12am

Just pass 5 levels, I wanna more :D

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice job! Would have been nice to get a few more mechanics into the game :)

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Thanks for playing the game :) And happy you liked it. Trying to learn a better way to generate more levels, so that more time can be spent on adding for example bonuses :)

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Cool idea, wish it was longer and had more variations.

kratorspore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Windows link was a broken link for me. Dropbox 5xx error.

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

@kratorspore If you have time please try again. I just tried it with successful result.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Aw man, is there any way you can include love2d in the download?

apaneske says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

@Feysoura Amended, hopefully it works for you.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I agree with the others, more levels would be good. But as is, still a good game!

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

great theme!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice and complete game. Good work!

Jason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Cool concept. I like the music you were able to generate with cfxr, I gave up trying to make a background loop for mine with it!

apaneske says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

@Jason, the music was made with autotracker which just spits out music. Generate music until you find something you like.

loxo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice game, finished it! Some traps or portals would have been nice.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

OMG best game so far! The concept is awesome, and music is really nice for ears! GOOD JOB!

alts says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice work. One thing I would consider is adding some degree of punishment. The flashlight only having ten seconds of battery isn't too bad since you can just grope your way around the world to win. If there were things that had to be avoided (pits, etc.), that'd make the battery life more precious.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice game, a bit too simplistic and the fact that the battery does not reset at each level makes it hard to use.

apaneske says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:31pm

@Latcarf, there are two difficulty levels. When you play on easy you get at full battery for each level.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Controls are okay, but it should allow me to move when I'm touching the walls. This would make it easier to get through tiny wall openings.
It's good that the game continues when your battery runs out, but there should be some sort of checkpoint where you can go back to there with a full charged battery.
I was playing in Normal Level.

NAAM says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:47am

An appealing recreational game. I appreciated that the 10 seconds were mine to use up, but would have enjoyed a bit of a "celebration" when I reached the exit on each level.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]