August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds In 10 Seconds

by Jishenaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=Links=
=======

Gameplay Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldR7YUpgXdA

Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=291148

10SecIn10Sec Page on my Blog: http://jibransyed.wordpress.com/game-projects/10-seconds-in-10-seconds/


=About=
=======

"10 Seconds in 10 Seconds" is a game where you have 10 seconds to fight or defend yourself.

Every 10 seconds, you switch from offense to defense and vise-versa.

In defense mode, invoke the shield with space as much as possible to get ammo. Once in offense mode, fire at your opponent.

There are 10 spirits hovering around you. They will "second" you if you collect a relic. However, relics make you lose a little health. The spirits aren't too fond of you taking health. If all 10 spirits second you, your offense or defense gets enhanced.

Numbers on the sides are the ammo. They decrease during offense mode (red) and increase in defense mode (green). So while, in defense mode, invoking the shield as much as possible will give you more ammo to use in offense mode.

Please forgive the crappy AI and lack of sounds. Ran short of time.




=Controls=
==========

- Arrows Key or WASD navigates
- Space fires laser or shield
- Enter starts the game
- Escape quits

There are Xbox controls too:

- Up and down on the left stick thrusts
- Left and right on the right stick turns
- RB (right shoulder button) fires laser or shield
- Start button starts the game
- Back button quits



=Updates & Notes=
=================

Note: Linux version is not tested. If any Linux user finds a problem, feel free to notify me in the comments below.

Note 2: Due to button mapping on the Mac, the controller will not work the way you expect on Mac. Use the keyboard.

Update: Forgot to provide source.

Update 2: Linux version is now a .tar.gz download and provides both 32-bit and 64-bit binaries.

>> For further updates on this game (including a post-LD version), keep a lookout on my blog: http://jibransyed.wordpress.com/game-projects/10-seconds-in-10-seconds/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#548Theme3.19
#597Innovation2.90
#800Mood2.43
#803Graphics2.49
#891Overall2.70
#892Humor1.64
#911Audio1.57
#929Fun2.44

Comments

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

The controls were a bit difficult. Other than that it was pretty fun. Good job!

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

:| no Linux version....

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

Really cool idea, controls were really tough to get used to though. I bet this would be really fun in local multiplayer.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Pretty cool game! The controls are a bit difficult and I always lose my spirits in the game!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

Didn't know I was allowed to still port. Linux version now avaliable, but not tested.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

It could have been a lot of fun-everything seemed very well put together-but laggy controls made it hard to enjoy. Still a good effort!

Lancey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

It's a good idea, but it seems like mashing buttons on the defensive is the best possible strategy because your opponent can't move and fire very well.

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

Pretty cool, but after a while, I stopped being able to shoot (even during my attack phase). Was there limited ammo or something like that?

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Oh, yes. I forgot to mention the numbers on the sides are ammo.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Interesting concept. I like the 'turns' aspect of it. Hard little bugger to kill.

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

The driving is slippery. Although, I got a tick of rapid firing the enemy ship, heh.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

Thanks for the feedback guys. I'll tweak the controls in a post-LD version, and of course add sounds and other stuff.

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

I like the idea and wish I was better at using the controls. I like these kinds of games that have controls like this, but I'm not good at them.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

Cool idea :) Took me a little while to adapt to the control scheme (was expecting the world to revolve around me rather than the other way around, haha), and I had some issues with 'overshoot' if that makes sense. Loved the concept though, great work!

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

Great concept and it's mostly there. I found that there was a lot of ammo starvation though. The AI is also a bit cheaty: when he's targetting you he's got no turning delay, yet your own slow steering speed is one of the chief elements of the game. Still, I enjoyed it.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

@SteveSalmond: Thanks a bunch. What do you mean by "overshoot"?

@OldPeculier: The cheaty AI was due to the fact I started AI late. Unity's Transform.LookAt() was the fastest thing I could do at that point.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Once i got used to the controls it was quite fun. The simple visual style seemed to work well.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

a bit hard to control due to the inertia on turning.. could be a great 2 player game!

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21am

I understand the controls because there is no mouse in this game so this wasn't an issue, the only issue was that there was very little movement from my enemy so I was tempted to just keep mashing space (only had to take aim twice or so), so it was a bit on the easy side :P Make the enemy move constantly when he is in shield mode and you can make it a lot more exciting I think.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Very difficult to control and some issues with AI. Fun game but could be better with local 2 player mode.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

I found it quite tough because of the controls, but it's still a lot of fun.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19am

Very nice, but you basically just spam the spacebar during the whole game

eckcz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Would be great with multi-player support.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cool concept! I bet you could develop it a bit more, like maybe having some other factor determine how long your shield lasts in defense mode, aside from how fast you can press space. Like everyone else says, this would be perfect for local multiplayer. Nice job!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This idea is something that would be absolutely amazing for splitscreen or local multiplayer. After playing it for a little while, my only real complaint was the controls.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Controls are hard. Cool game though

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Controls very difficult and can't shoot for some reason even after 10 seconds.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

You should make multiplayer

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice work!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Thanks everyone! I'll definitely make a local multiplayer in a post-LD version.

@SpiralCodeStudio: That's because you have to gain back ammo by invoking your shield as much as possible in defense mode (when you're green).

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

very nice idea, controls could use a retouch

bytegrove says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

The concept is pretty interesting and as mentioned before, it could do well as a multiplayer game. However, the combination of slow turning and fast acceleration makes it pretty hard to steer. It might be enough to increase the turn speed, but it could become a pretty different game then as well I guess.
Nice work, it has potential should you decide to continue working on it!

Draktharr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

Would have loved a 2 players mode :D

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

I dig the idea. If this were a 4 player split screen game on the ouya or something it would probably do pretty well :D AI kept backing in to a corner when it was its turn to defend lol CRAFTY ROBUTTS

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02am

Fun idea. Really nice execution. The gameplay is easy to learn, but hard to master.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

I felt a little bad with controls.. They were a little lagged and "squishy".. after that, really interesting gameplay mechanics! Nice design!

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Great work !

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Good use of the theme, with some audio and maybe multiplayer it could become a great game.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Took a sec to get used to the controls. Overall pretty fun!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:01pm

After getting used to the controls it was a pretty fun game! Alternating between attack and defend was neat.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

The controls are a bit wonky, but the game is pretty interesting and fun. I enjoyed it. I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

@Jupiter_Hadley: Thanks for featuring my work in that video! Controls I will tweak in a future version of the game, and I'll explain in the game how ammo works.

GFM says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The controls were really hard to control... You should rotate less after pressing a key.
But the offense/defense concept was interesting. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]