August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Going In For Seconds

by fferro234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare Entry! It is a game about trying to get a second serving of food, or trying to get seconds. Use stealth to avoid cameras, aliens and your wife from seeing you get your second helping of food. There were originally going to be ten levels, but I ran out of time. Finishing your serving takes 10 seconds though, I made sure of that!

I'm hoping this gets maybe a chuckle or laugh out of some people, it is kind of quirky and my art is laughably horrendous. Unfortunately, I ran out of time to add music and sounds.

Controls:
WASD or Arrow to move
E or RMB to Open Fridge (When standing in blue area in front of fridge)
R to restart level

All comments and feedback are welcomed.

The URL for the Windows and mac version is really a Unity Web link so I am pretty sure it could run on any computer. I fixed the Kongregate resolution problem so the web version should be just as good as the download Windows Versions. I also have a new linux version link creating a linux unity build so hopefully that works also now, for some reasons the files are much much bigger for the linux version. I have no way to check if it works though.

Thanks for Playing!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Humor3.00
#787Innovation2.67
#816Theme2.87
#832Fun2.59
#846Mood2.34
#948Audio1.39
#958Overall2.61
#1034Graphics2.06

Comments

sxaktosxafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Cool interpretation of the theme!

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

I don't even... What a weird little game.
I like weird games.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13am

As said before, weird little game but its fun to hide from the wife XD

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27am

Thank you for the comments! Snail_man your response was exactly what I wanted to achieve with this game. My original ideas after seeing the theme were incredibly dark and serious, so i'm glad that when I decided on a more silly theme that some people would enjoy it.

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

sounds cool.. unfortunately unity web player won't run on my linux system...:(

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

that was pretty good. It need to be easier to know if you're in the field of view though.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

I created a new linux build which is hopefully playable. I have no way to test it though. Yea I was worried about the field of view problem, I needed to add some view lines (or ideally make cones).

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

That was funny XD

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

Love the title. Loved the Wife art in the intro. Cool concept. I couldn't figure out how to open the fridge though.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Fun and weird little game :) A field of view for the wife would be nice.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

At first I was like, "What does this have to do with the theme?" Then I glanced back at the title and it all made sense. Aren't you the clever one? :P

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

That escalated... strangely haha =) Could become a really wacky stealth game. Sounds would be the next big thing to add at least.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

You should improve graphic a bit but otherwise really nice concept!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

crazy but cool, liked it :)

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

It was a pretty interesting take on the theme, but the execution was lacking. It just felt like I was playing a bunch of hastily made levels with no real challenges or purpose. I kind of liked the night level though.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50am

Very funny. I had some trouble navigating through the hose, but the intruder alert system shoved me to the correct place.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Nom nom, gonna eat cake!

I like it!!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

hbahaahaha really funny idea, the graphics were really a nice fit to it! liked the concept, good humor :P

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Fun game. (: Good work for the first LD.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:29pm

It's a weird game :)

Getting caught doesn't really punish you or anything. That makes it almost too easy.

Dan says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:37pm

This was weird but really amusing to play

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

good job

Blooperly says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:14am

Haha very fun. I like the driving part. There is no real penalty for being seen though.

DuduSAr says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Some indication of the vision of the things (camera, etc.) we must avoid would be nice.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:57pm

"you are a fat" lol
And I love how the restaurants are just giant fridges.
Great work!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:12am

I went with this same interpretation of the theme! Cool!

everblind says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:55am

no player :(

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Good fun. Like the ridiculous art. The different levels are really cool, was left hungry for more (if you'll excuse the pun!)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Fun and funny!

larb says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Hilarious. I wish I thought of interpreting the theme like this.

canvapps says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Art make me thing of beavis and butthead games. I totally know it has nothing to do with it... but hahaha I couldn't stop thinking about it xD
Nice work and interesting concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]