August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

workhorse: it's my life

by kayupla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a methaphore the stresses around us in our daily lives. a boss at work, a wife and children, an old friend, a neighbor, a mother ... Everyone asks for something and lose interest if we disappoint.
Answer before 10 seconds elapsed and win the power to destroy obstacles. If you win two powers, you score points for each rapid response and lose to be missed. listen to the sound that the ryhtme 10 seconds. The obstacle change every 5 seconds, careful not to go crazy!
use the arrows to move the character, to destroy the space walls when you picked up power.
Press esc when you think you complete the game.

Although the game are not really finished (out of time^^), the theme inspired me to take risks ...
Caracters are made with famitsu caracter generator, the rest of visuals don't need anythingother than plaint^^.
I play the guitar title screen myself and mix the nasty ingame music with acid express. The game was made with Construct2 (scirra).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#352Audio2.91
#612Mood2.65
#616Theme3.12
#700Overall2.93
#702Innovation2.77
#789Graphics2.50
#863Fun2.54
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

Fun Game! It hits the "Really? C'Mon!"-vibe :)

Also, the main menu is quite cool.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

I like the idea, but I think It's poorly implemented, premade graphics also... I would prefer placeholders

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Controls could've been tuned a bit, other than that, it's a really nice game.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23pm

It was quite enjoyable,
although the movement is a bit 'flowy' and takes a while to get up and running.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I can see what your getting at with your idea, the whole game feels like one of thoes annyoing dreams were you cant quite reach your goal. I the shading is nice, but the sprites seem a bit rough.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I like the core ideas, although it took me a while to get the hang of how to position myself in time for wall switches. I think that giving the player a hint as to what the next wall setup will be would go a long way. Overall, it was fun.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

thx all for comments. game is not really finished and I think I can push more the concept and try to make the game better.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Holy shit was this frustrating and hard!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Don't know if you are new at game programming or not, if you are new you made a great work, else you could have spent a little more time in polishing it, the idea is good, the implementation wasn't

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Interesting mechanic, and works out pretty well - good fun.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I like the idea behind it. Has potential if it were more polished. Great work!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I liked the audio and the concept. Not sure why the level changes every 5 seconds. I am sure you could have come up with a way to make it change every 10 seconds and still be fun. Maybe bigger maps?! Menu screen is cool!

bukt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Really cool. Awesome soundtrack, good backstory and addictive gameplay. But a little bit unpolished. Don't you want to finish the game some time? Give me a call though :)

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Good game. It is really stressful! I think that is what you were going for so good job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Wow, I love the music in this game, it really got me in the mood. This game really captures the philosophy of life! I took the Buddhism approach and wait it out! :D

Is there a gameover and win?

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Good idea, although it could use some polishing.

I think some way to anticipate how the obstacles are changing would really benefit the sanity of the players :)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice atmosphere and idea, I think I see what you wanted to do ! But the game needs some polish now :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]