August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Divide and bounce

by simple - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Every 10 seconds every blob divies in two. Use the left/right keys to navigate to the end of the level! (*should work with gamepad too)

To play, download and open the "firstGame" app - it is made using the XNA game studio and I dont know a better way to publish it :(

Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Innovation3.58
#188Humor3.05
#213Fun3.38
#510Theme3.23
#569Overall3.04
#622Audio2.43
#670Mood2.58
#857Graphics2.38
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

Before I begin, 2 things:
1. I suggest you host this on a different site like dropbox, google drive, or mediafire. Where you have it at the moment is full of ads and I didn't know where to click :P
2. I also suggest that you try and figure out a way for people to play the game without having to install it. I did, but it does take a lot of time, and not everyone will.

You can do both of those after the competition ends, as it just counts as porting ;)

I actually quite enjoyed this! trying to get more than one bouncy pink thing to the end was pretty fun, even if it was almost impossible :P
It seemed to me that one of the most frustrating things was that the pink things would die after falling off the screen! I think that if you changed that, it would change the game quite a bit from being a platformer with autojump, to a more interesting move a cloud of pink things :P
Also, perhaps if you were to centre the camera at average centrepoint rather than lock to one, it might make controlling them slightly less frustrating?

But I did actually quite enjoy it, nice work ;)

simple says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Not sure how to modify my entry to add new links - but here is a dropbox version that shouldnt need an install:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/pp48ingdzfruizt/divide%20and%20bounce%20%28no%20install%29.zip

And a dropbox link to the isntall version (incase the above doesnt work for you for some reason):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/obopqza6zevs4p4/divide%20and%20bounce%201.0.zip

Looking into silversprite to see if I can get a web version too :)



I agree, the idea was to get a proper swarm of the guys but I think I made it a bit difficult. If I was to make a quick tweak it would be to zoom out the camera to try and keep them all on the screen - though would also maybe need so logic to try and keep them grouped up.

simple says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I was being dense - entry updated :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

This idea is great! I first thought, ok I split, the others will move around randomly and will jsut be in my way. Then I realized, I control them all. I wasn't able to finish levels with lots of them though. Usually I split, I focus on one and the others die rather quickly.

I think you can expand on this idea. Like you could reach high places by stacking yourself onto each other.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

This game is good, the idea of splitting has so much potential. You could definitely make an even better game ;)

jordans says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Surprisingly fun mechanic! I really like the minimal control scheme.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Really cool idea with the replication (I was hoping for that theme!), but was it really needed for anything? The clone that would pop out would typically die quickly and it was difficulty to control both of them at the same time without 1 or both of them dying.

Either way, good job! It was a fun little game!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Good entry. I also would enjoy it a lot more, if the violet thingies would not die after falling out off the screen.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great idea! I am surprised it is possible to manoever multiple blobs with this control scheme. Unfortunately there is little incentive to keep multiple blobs alive. In fact, in order to get the lowest death rate, it's best to kill off each spawn as soon as it appears.

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14am

I love the googly eyes on the blobs! Had a lot of fun with this once I got the hang of it, and though it is very difficult to keep too many of the blobs alive at once it's really fun to listen to them all bounce while you can. There's definitely some potential for a pretty cool game here.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The difficulty is a little frustrating but there's a really nice idea in here. Good job!

markengley says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Great, and potentially hilarious, idea for a central mechanic. Good job building a tile engine in the time as well :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Great game. It was so much fun when they divided the first time. Tried to get as many as possible but never got above 10-12. Played all the levels. Liked the boing sound and the eyes!

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Love the lemmings-like gameplay

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I really enjoyed this game, and I thought it was a cool idea. It would be cool to see more teamwork between the blobs though.

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I liked the "boing" sound, but I found that dividing the blobs had little impact on the game itself.
It could definitely be interestintg to add some kind of interaction between them (like, bouncing on top of each others, or something like that).
That said, this one alone was fun to play. Good job!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

fresh and interesting spin on the platforming formula. quite fun.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

The idea is cool! But i think you could do a better game on this mechanics. You could finish each level with only one blob and kill all the others. :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]