August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Granny Death - The 10 second buff game

by Fluffy Tigers in the Sky - Jam Entry

A game where every buff only last 10 seconds!

But don't be sad, you can collect masses of them.
On the flip side - masses of buff items == hordes of enemies who drop them.

Ah, and by the way: You're playing senile nice Granny Death fighting her way through a dungeon.

Controls: Have a look in the Almanac or:
You can walk with arrow keys or the analog stick on your gamepad.
Standard Attack "A" on Keyboard, "A" on gamepad
Whirlwind "S" on Keyboard, "X" on gamepad
Magnet "D" on Keyboard, "B" on Gamepad

when you die, type your name and press enter to get to the skill menu :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#68Humor(Jam)3.49
#135Graphics(Jam)3.84
#168Fun(Jam)3.24
#230Overall(Jam)3.24
#285Audio(Jam)2.85
#313Mood(Jam)2.87
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59
#514Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Very unique art style you have.. awesome work, hitting enemies was satisfying. Rated highly. :)

siat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Gets a little ridiculous, but couldn't stop playing (until my machine got overloaded and crashed).

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00am

Zerling rush is back!
Funny artwork.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Funny idea and the start menu is brilliant.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I love the look of the enemies. Perhaps the initial attack speed should be a bit faster though.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I like the visual stile. Must have been a lot of work. I always got surrounded and could not really see what was going on. Still a great entry!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Fun, looks good, but you'll quickly tire of it. Background music is nice and the 'acting' is amusing. Could have done with a little more feedback on the interactions - screen shake and blood (or hit particles?). Again, the art is very pretty.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56pm

The art style is great, I could see this becoming a webshow easily! I think I'm not very good at the game.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Had so much fun, crazy idea, awesome execution

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Had fun playing this game, so many trolls I was running at 2fps!
Granny is OP!
http://i44.tinypic.com/10xybl5.png

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Thx so much for your comments, we were smiling the whole way down reading them.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

PS: follow us https://www.facebook.com/fluffytigers ;)

funkbob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

good game! is fun funny and has replay value.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Haha! Great art and a really fun theme! Reminds me of a more attractive version of Gauntlet.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Awesome artwork and satisfying gameplay. It just had a really nice crazy vibe to it - would be fun to see it expanded into a proper dungeon crawl. Good work!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Great art style! Very fun to play.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Loved the graphics and the music was great before it got repetitive... overall very polished in terms of presentation... attack was a little too slow and I found myself overwhelmed pretty fast.

Great entry and good luck!

DevMax says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice art, gameplay is quiet good. Could be improved with better enemy hit animation.

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice game. Just think that the first atack its too slow, but nice art work. Like the lots of boost you can get =)

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I will probably have nightmares about goblins in berets tonight but at least it was worth it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Really captures the day-to-day problems grannies face. thugs and bakery sales. I like this a lot, Im also impression on the technical point by how many enemies you could put on screen without lag! Nice game fluffy.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40am

This game gets pretty damn hectic pretty damn quickly

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:42am

Why this nasty granny is hitting all these poor goblins? :))

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12am

I liked everything about this game :) sooooo funny! The only thing i could say to you as feedback is that i want some more monsters to kill for my grandma!

ColdBrain says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

Not bad survival)

tokw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44pm

great game nice concept funny also nice start menu

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Weird and crazy game. Good job! :)

aglushakov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice game!

Very fun idea and good graphics!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

The comments and texts in the Almanac are funny! I thought about the 10-second-powerup-mechanic too, but discarded it because I thought it would be too short - you solved that nicely by stacking them. It's really confusing to have 10+ of them though - I stopped caring what I have pretty early and just ran in, feeling like the badass granny I am. The graphics look pretty cool!

Good job - and congratulations on your first LD entry!

PS: I like your username.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I didn't really know what was going on but I loved to bash the enemies haha. Was fun and pretty addicting music not so bad either, graphics creative in their own sense very fun!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:28pm

good job

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This is very well done :) Congratulations. It's really fun to play, you art is great, sound, and audio are fitting :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:20pm

well done, interesting, grannies are weird.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I really liked the art style.

tokw says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

nice game i did quite well
as its so addictive
(27k)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:53am

Great graphics and pretty fun game you've got here!

johntheperson says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Fun game. Not sure how well it fits the theme, as only powerups have anything to do with ten seconds, but the art is pretty awesome.

SkyTheCoder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

One of my favorite games of all time... Unbelievably addictive. I fully updated my Granny Death and she became Super Granny, wiping out masses of goblins until the game got too laggy it was unplayable and Google Chrome told me the page was unresponsive twice. That's how good it is.

You might need to add enemy amount clipping if you continue working on this, (PLEASE do!) as you can see how it freezes at the end of this video showcasing Super Granny: http://youtu.be/BQAJJEzNA1k

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:36am

Great graphics. I found this game fun and amusing. Great job. I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:09am

Ahah, I love the granny's voice.
I went till 11k kills, then I let granny meets her destiny.
But first games, without too much upgrades, were really fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]