August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10Shots

by JALgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill all the zombies and destroy the tanks in this platformer-shooter. Walk with WASD or with the arrow keys. When the red bar on the top of the screen fills, you will shoot one time and the bar will slowly (10 seconds) fill up again.
To kill a zombie, you have to hit him one time. Tanks (appear in level 2) are more difficult to kill: they take 2 shots.
But you can die as well: as soon as a zombie intersects you, you will loose 5 hearts per second. If your last heart is gone, you will die of course. Tanks aren't that dangerous. You can intersect in them without loosing health. But tanks are like you and will emit a bullet every ten seconds.
If one hits you, you will loose 5 hearts.

The game uses MonoGame for rendering (so it is written in C# and you will need the .NET-framework). The graphics are created with inkscape or (the ones, that look bad) with paint:) For inkscape, I used the amazing tutorials from http://2dgameartforprogrammers.blogspot.de/. Make sure to visit that blog as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#700Theme3.00
#894Graphics2.31
#1027Overall2.50
#1077Innovation2.13
#1096Fun2.06
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

davidwparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Do you have an OS/X or Web version available?

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Sorry, this is MonoGame, so .NET. Web will definally not run, but it would by eventually possible to port it to Mac. But I'm too stupid to do that. Sorry:(

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I just googled a bit and it won't be possible to port that without using a Mac. I only have got a Windows PC, so I can't do it. Theoreically you could port it using the source I provided but I don't think you want to do that because that would be a huge effort. But nice that you are interested in my game.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice idea, and really good for a first game.

The controls could really be worked over, it feels way too floaty.

About porting, Monogame should be possible to run on Mac actually. And with JSIL you also might port it to Web.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Hard enough ;) I like the idea, but some sounds and/or music would definitely help the game to get some mood. I saw you used text files for stage developing - I encourage you to use Paint to do the same thing - create image 16x15 pixels, paint walls with one color, enemies and stuff with other colors and then in-game scan every pixel of that image to build stage. It might look the same as text file, but it is much easier to edit the stage :)

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Couldn't get it to run, game closes itself when I try to open it.. I already have .NET framework installed. I'm on Win8 x64.

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

I know it is POSSIBLE to port it to Mac, but I haven't the time to do that because I have to learn for several exams in the school.

I just quickly googled JSIL and it looks really nice. I'm going to try it out later (tomorrow).

JALgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@andreyin: I really don't know how that can happen. I have exactly the same system as you (win8 x64) and it runs fine. Please make sure you have got the file "Stage0.txt" in the same directory as the exe. If it still doesn't run, I don't know how to get it running:(

@doonay21: I hadn't time to add it (it was my first Ludum dare so I wasn't prepared good enough and I just ran out of time). For the same reaspn, I used text files. But you can edit them quite well when you activate the "overwrite"-mode. And, you can also create new stages named Stage2.txt etc. If you do so, you can send them to me per e-mail: jal(at)jalfm(dot)de

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I was not able to run it, the exe crashes (without displaying any specific message) :(

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04pm

It's amazing for a first game, well done! The controls are dodgy though ;P

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Doesn't seem to launch for me

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:47pm

It doesn't launch for me either on Win7.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Pretty good effort here, although as others have commented the controls need some work. Nice ideas though. Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nice use of theme. Congrats on your first LD! Good Job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]