August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Pop!

by nthird - Jam Entry

To run just extract the zip and open index.html in a web browser.

Didn't have any time for actual art so its all just placeholder. Pretty happy with what I managed though considering I only had Sunday available. This is my first Ludum Dare submission so don't hold back, I really want to get better at this.

This is my take on a bubble pop game. I'd really like to extend this to be more solidly like a puzzle game with definitive solutions for each level and I have some ideas for different types of zombies to accomplish that.

I entered the Jam instead of the Dare due to time constraints (worked past the Dare time frame) and I reused some of my code from a different partially completed game. Next time I'll package up the relevant pieces so everyone else can use them and I'll try for the Dare.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#246Innovation(Jam)3.07
#431Fun(Jam)2.56
#431Theme(Jam)2.81
#449Humor(Jam)1.73
#496Overall(Jam)2.64
#543Mood(Jam)1.95
#595Graphics(Jam)1.81
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nice premise! I like the idea of the game. I think you need something more than clicks to assess how good the player was - maybe different types of zombie that can't be clicked on or something? Check out other puzzle games for inspiration! I think this has promise though :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Did you submit to the Jam instead of the normal competition by accident? The levels start out on a big grid, if it started on smaller levels it would make it more appealing. The popping and chain mechanic has potential.

nthird says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Thanks for the comments, I updated my description to be a little clearer about what I want to do with the game and why it ended up in the jam.

Unclickable zombies sounds like a great idea @mtrc I just gotta mull it over and see how best to handle it narratively.

I can totally see how the huge grid is overwhelming at first @DaanVanYperen. I'm wondering if I need to rewrite a smaller one to start and change the sizes on everything. I think its a good size for later levels though.

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26am

Hey nthird,

any reason to not uploading this to someplace in the Internet, instead of asking for a download? That way you will get more people playing.

In linux it gives error because the filenames are case sensitive:

Failed to load resource file:///home/manuq/Descargas/LD27/Zombie%20Pop%20HTML/basicsmall.PNG

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06am

A good start that needed a bit more polish

nthird says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

@manuq hadn't had a chance to set up my hosting mostly. Its available now at nthird.com/zombie_pop.html Its cutting a few pixels off the right edge of the screen but it doesn't affect gameplay in any way. I'll take another look at it next time I get a chance.

Thanks for pointing out the Linux error. I changed filenames to be all lowercase so hopefully that fixes it. If you try it again let me know, I don't have a Linux machine to test on at the moment.

@wally2069 thanks, I totally agree.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:49pm

The great thing about this game is that you can play at any level, but to set the best mark is still possible for hardcore gamers.
I really love the theme!

manuq says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:47am

nthird don't worry about linux, web works fine.

First I thought: "I want to see zombies being inflated! I hope this guy adds some graphics!" But then the puzzle made me think, maybe is better to keep it abstract enough. Good one!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Didn't worked for me, only a white screen with the message "Script embedded in HTML". Used Chrome.

flap says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:39am

Good idea. But I fell that I would enjoy it better if it was turn based (1 second : red dot move one step forward)

nthird says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:53pm

@manuq I'm intending to have graphics at some point but my skills are not up to it yet. Its a high priority for after I have some more levels in place. I'm glad its still enjoyable without though :D

@xrm0 I'm getting the same thing without anything having changed on my end. I'll look into it when I get back from work and see if I can find the issue. Thanks for letting me know. In the mean time you can download the source code and just open the index.html if you're interested.

@flap That's an interesting idea. I'm toying with it being turn based where each click is a turn, having the exploded flesh (which is what that red dot would look like if I had more art skills) only move based on the turns would be interesting. I might have to mock something up and see how it plays.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:35am

This was....abstract xD

nthird says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:52am

The game is working again on web for me so hopefully that fixes it for everyone else too.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:43am

Cool Idea, I think you could add something more here though. Like if you had a cap on the amount of clicks (food) you could feed the zombies that might add some more strategy. Doing that might need a pause button though... hmm... anyways, cool idea!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:06am

It definitely felt more like a click fest than a puzzle, I think the theme worked against you there. I also feel like some sort of feedback besides the timer, like sounds or screen flashing or something would help it feel less button-mashy. While the circle sizes were easy enough to distinguish by looking, some other distinction (color shape) would help get that information with a quick scan and add to the puzzle game feel. There's an idea at the core here that's worth exploring a little more though.

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:40am

@DDRKirby(ISQ) heh, fair enough.

@savethejets1 I'm toying with there being an unlimited amount of food but you get stars based on how little you used. So you can still complete the level without strategy but you need strategy to get enough stars to unlock later levels.

@Empyrealhell yeah I tacked the theme on in order to make a game I wanted to make. I think it adds an interesting tension but it makes so if you don't make good progress in those first 10 seconds it gets way harder really fast. I definitely want some graphics which will hopefully make it easier to distinguish them and some animation to demonstrate the digestion if I decide to stick with it. I might pull digestion entirely and make it part of an optional challenge mode or only part of some levels.

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:31am

The blood splatter on the wall. Even if it's just a red line, it looks great^^
I didn't try all of the levels, since the gameplay didn't have much variety. The idea of feeding zombies to kill them is totally anti-mainstream. No shovels, no shotguns, just raw(or rotten?) meat^^

Katamori says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Great stuff, especially for a first game!

nthird says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:34am

@X-0r thanks! I spent a fair amount of time on the blood on the walls. Just felt important to help sell the narrative. Glad you appreciated it. I agree about the variety, I'll try to spice things up some more as I keep working on it. I'm pretty happy with how the feeding comes across. I might let the player shoot one or two in the future but feeding them until they explode is going to remain the best way to kill them for sure :D

@Katamori thanks! I'm hoping to expand it and make better games in the future. I'm super glad LD inspired me to actually start this one.

Lizzip says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Interesting idea, could turn into something quite fun with all the ideas people are giving you here

nthird says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:09pm

@Lizzip Thanks, I certainly hope so.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]