August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minty Snak3

by cirpis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need to install the XNA redistributable, and the .NET framework for this to run.

First time entering,
Language: C# with XNA and Visual studio express 2010 as IDE.
Graphics: GIMP
no sound D:

now this wont win me any prizes, but it isnt about winning now is it?

--Edit--
To anyone having "No suitable graphics card found" error, download the post Compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#505Graphics2.96
#693Humor2.00
#698Mood2.55
#818Innovation2.62
#822Theme2.86
#841Overall2.76
#848Audio1.85
#921Fun2.46

Comments

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

It's about making cool stuff!
And this is pretty cool :D

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

You have cought the look and difficulty of the earlier game era quite nicely! Way to go!

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

great grafics!

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

I like the controls with two keys (instead of a four-arrows for the four directions control).

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very nice!

I really like the look! Annoying was that pressing D repeatedly would through me out of the game and into the options.

It's missing squeaky sounds ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

This is cute. The colours you've chosen work very well together. Definitely feels 'old school. Well done :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

Got an error saying "No suitable graphics card found" :/

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:58am

Lovely oldschool cga graphics. Liked it, even though I spawned inside a wall sometimes. Good job!

cirpis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

@Zuige, oh, silly me, I have uploaded a fix now, could you try it to see if its fixed?

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

The game looks nice and the idea is cool, but I have a lot of trouble to control the snake with those 2 keys (I'm not good with rotations tho :D). Also the 3rd level should give you a little more time to react. But cool job :)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I liked the snake animation. It was a bit to hard to catch the food pieces. No Sounds :(

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pro: I like that the goals are different in each level.
Con: No checkpoints?! Also waiting 10 entire seconds on the tutorial levels gets old the second or third time.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nop it is not about winning and prizes cause... there are no prizes :P Now about your game.. I really like it. I find it bit hard to master controls, but the concept is catchy.

Eelfroth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

This game is very stylish in every aspect.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Well done! Very well executed and I loved the graphics!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Waiting ten useless seconds for the tutorial level to end was a drag. The control scheme was a bit fiddly, but ok anyways. Great retro feels, though.

cirpis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Well level design was kinda half-done because I needed to sleep, and I completely agree with those of you saying that the tutorial level is pretty boring in comparison with the rest of the game, I might change it later.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Nice idea, waiting 10 seconds for each level is very slow would be fun with some other winning condition.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Excellent idea, very creative! Keep at it and good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I liked the style. REminds me of the old commodore games.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:22pm

good job

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

Awesome art, great game!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Super retro, and nicely done. Good job!

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Monotonous and difficult like a really old videogame (I mean this as a compliment). Still, nice. Congrats on your first entry!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Wow supercool CGA graphics!
Really love it! :)
This is a very innovative snake!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]