August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vacuum

by SCCOTTT - Jam Entry

This is a very incomplete entry! Not really a game yet. I was only able to work
on this from midnight to 6am Sunday morning, so I focused on making
something that felt disorienting. Like Real Space!

You can shoot and die and careen through space. Every ten seconds you have
no control of your ship.

This is my first Ludum Dare (and first time really attempting to make a game
at all). Had a lot of fun and learned a number of things. Games!!

===============

Controls:
Arrow keys

(Make sure to click on the game first)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#114Mood(Jam)3.41
#317Audio(Jam)2.75
#369Theme(Jam)2.92
#416Innovation(Jam)2.65
#474Graphics(Jam)2.62
#504Overall(Jam)2.62
#520Fun(Jam)2.29
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really cute! I like the idea of drifting in silence for a bit. The featured screenshot shows a sun, is that in the game?

SCCOTTT says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

Hey thank you!

Yes, the glowing circle objects are in there! And you can shoot them or slam into them even! The best way to find them is to not move around too quickly.

Serishmus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58am

What is it doing when the screen turns white?

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

It was really simple, and I'm not sure if you intended this, but I thought it was very impactful. I loved the aesthetics. You drift around in space, contemplating your existence every so often, then you die alone.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

There's definitely potential but it's obviously incomplete. Looks like you got the basics down but didn't get a chance to put in objectives/goals.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

I liked the direction this was going in
great mood

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Full stars for the mood, I really liked this. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

It is a shame you didn't get to finish it for LD, but perhaps build upon it as a personal project as it's a nice foundation.

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Liked the mood and the stars xD

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

sweet

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

I like the idea. In future versions, I would have the "drift" time much lower, but still as frequent.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

beautiful game, cant wait to see what it turns into :D keep up the good work.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

A delightful little game; it's really sort of zen-like floating through space. I saw some blue orbs, so I shot at them and blew them up... then I floated aimlessly for a while until I ran into an orb and exploded. Why did I try to kill the blue orbs? I don't even know. Deep.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Pretty neat for what there is, shame you didn't get to finish it

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:00am

Well, nice beginning ^^
We failed at a past Ludum, and in this one we deliver a complete game. It's normal. Keep trying.

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:22am

Congratulations on your first LD. You've managed to make something that controls very well, and while there aren't a whole lot of "game" elements in it, it feels like a strong foundation for something to be build on top of it. Nice work.

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I love space games, the graphics, mood, simplicity and audio here were excellent. Congrats on your first LD ^^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]