August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The 10 (other) Seconds Journey

by PaperBlurt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made by PaperBlurt - http://twitter.com/paperblurt

This is my first time attending Ludum Dare.

Went around all weekend pondering upon the theme, and finally I think I got something good together.

Made in: Twine
Graphics/Style: PaperBlurt

About "The 10 (other) Seconds Journey":

I thought about the theme and felt that I wanted to do something different with the theme, at the same time as I want the ones playing it maybe laugh or stop and think for a second. I hope I've achieved that.

I always try to incorporate parts from my own life into what I create..

Enjoy and don't forget to rate!

UPDATE 28/8:

Just realised that my game actual is permadeath, I just wanted to add a bit of challenge in the game. But permadeath stays during the compo at least.. then we'll see!

UPDATE 30/8:

Wrote a Post Mortem that you can read here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/30/post-mortem-the-10-other-seconds-journey-2/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#306Humor2.71
#559Mood2.72
#694Innovation2.78
#878Overall2.71
#951Audio1.37
#962Fun2.38
#1003Theme2.57
#1119Graphics1.84

Comments

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26am

Took me a few runs to get through to the last floor and had none to spare. But then I got it right :)
Good idea, good looking theme but I feel that sounds to accompany the text are missing, specially with those short lines.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19am

Hi man.

Thanks for playing the game, and kinda enjoying it. You mean I should add in sounds too?

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Delightfully bewildering.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25pm

"Jew Bet". Heh. You're a bad person.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

creative take on the theme, i like it!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Quite deep, but in a good way.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Surprisingly fun text adventure. I might have just restarted the game from the current chapter instead of restarting the game as replaying multiple chapters is a bit annoying.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14pm

That's, hum, odd. And a bit boring, to be frank. You should at least add some music to it.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I felt like science dog :S

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Was amusing. Worth Playing. Good Job.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Interesting! Great use of twine!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Huh. Fun. It has those little hints of feeling deep. It's good.

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Good entry :) Congrats

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice work!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

It was very nice and fun to play, some music would help to settle the mood.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very interesting little text adventure

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Hmm.. Seems like music would've added that little extra..

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great mood. Quite strangely poetic, bit frustrating starting again each time though.

devi ever says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:58am

At first I was like.... uh... ok... I guess... and then I was like... Heck yeah!

I found it amazingly thoughtful. :)

garygreen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

That was off-the-wall, and I thought it was great. :-)

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Wow! I made it in one play through and didn't understand to much of the jokes as I am dutch XD Hilarious :P

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

WTF
this stands on the line between quirky and I have no idea whats going on.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Interesting

Toshiro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Liked a lot !

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10pm

...wh... what. Rock Hudson? Titanic.. My head hurts. This is hillarious, but so, so confusing... And my sides hurt too. And my eyes are full of tears. :D

My hat off to you!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Wow, that was surreal. Thanks for making this, as weird as it made me feel at times ;)

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

An interesting and amusing idea. Not bad!

Gabriel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Lovely! It really does get you to think about life and choices... The burning people part is incredibly visceral. Congratulations! I admit I got curious about your personal story. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Ahaha.. Enjoyed this one, feels like an interactive poem. Nice work!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:14am

Great writing. Took a few times, but I got there! Good job :0)

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I enjoyed this. I love all the fast switching I have to do mentally each time I get to a new (second) story. Kind of like quickfire trivia, where I felt I had to answer fast but the questions were always totally from left field.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

You've done some very cool stuff in Twine here (speaking as someone who has Twine but is very far from having learnt all the tricks). Nice use of colours, visuals, timers, etc.

Some of the story snippets were pretty good (the war zone bit was probably my favourite), and I like the story/story pun, but as a whole, this seemed a bit too incomprehensible for me. I've got nothing against absurdity and symbolism, but here, it all seemed too vague to add up to much.

Hard one to rate: I enjoyed playing it, but I can't quite put my finger on what I was doing.

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very original concept

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

Hi @Christina.

Like your comment and I understand it. This is not for everyone, but I haven tried to make a game that excludes anyone either.

Glad for your feedback..

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

Funny twine game, if a little disconcerting :D Managed to beat it on my second run though, felt pretty good. And all in all a very nice experience, really different!

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

I liked the idea, but I felt that some desicions were sort of random, while others actually did have meaning. Made it on my second try :P (I just had to punch that guy in the face)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Fun, quirky and thought-provoking. I breezed it on my second playthrough. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I really like that so many actually finish the game. Permadeath can be a bummer!

Appreciate it!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I enjoyed playing this. Made me (happily) frustrated and I almost quit, but managed to win. Fun text game!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Interesting approach.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:09am

Well written, could have used some sound or music. Each level felt unrelated and the choices felt random - instead I would have liked your story to create a world and for my choices to relate to what I'm learning about your world as I play.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Interesting idea and one of the first twine games i've played ever.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Crazy pink quest) I like it!

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:47pm

A bit confusing and most of my stuff was just guessing/luck really. Nonetheless still enjoyable.

farmergnome says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Awesome entry, loved the take on the theme!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Very interesting. I like it!
Some music really could've added to the eerie atmosphere.

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Funny game, great humor and creative interpretation on the theme. Great!

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Very unique.
I specially like how it works with your imagination.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I don't get it.

Jhelle says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I don't really know how to interpret and/or rate this. It's interesting but also so so very weird .

rissatto says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Really nice game!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Oh, a text-based game! Nice narration, but i don't like trial&errors system in this kind of game, sorry.

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:29pm

ohh, got "wrong" around past half.. but it was interesting to try again and then... sooner or later :)

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Interesting idea

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Very frustrating when I get sent back from near the end, I wish you'd put some checkpoints.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:55am

Interesting. I failed the first couple of floors, then finished all of them in one go, generally just not being a dick :) As I got closer to the end I was like "pick right, pick right!" because the fear of failure took over.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]