August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Legend of DerpElf : Quest for the Banana of Time

by kattehus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use WSAD/arrow keys to control. Enemies slow you down. Use potions (items found on floor) to speed up (use buttons 1 or 2). You have 10 seconds for each level.

DerpElf!

You can only walk on the brownish tiles, and sometimes it's not as precise as I'd want it to be, so you may get stuck. Complete the levels by getting to one of the sides, there are 10 levels for success (and while I did play it a whole lot, I don't think it's hard, at least once you work out the quirks of moving).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06am

I can't move most of the time. I'm not sure if it's because the enemy is touching me.

kattehus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08am

I should probably have mentioned that you can only move on the brown paths. The enemies slow you down, as well, which is detrimental. Pick up some potion-thingamagings and hit 1 or 2 to use 'em (they restore your speed to the orig. value)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Thanks for joining the compo! Good luck to you.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46pm

It's fun but there's some collision bugs. Even when I'm on the brown path, I can't move sometimes.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Wasn't a bad idea but due to weird collisions I couldn't get to the Ocarina *ehm* Banana of Time in time >_< Fun nonetheless :)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

I really like the backgrounds here. Very charming!

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Interesting idea, but I always found myself stuck while moving through the grass.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

The same for me, I can't move half of the time, which is a bit frustrating.
Also, it would be nicer on a largest screen (think about old people :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The moving is horribly buggy, I can't move across the N-E curves at all.

Also, the score display below is cut off?

I can't score fairly since I'm not able to play properly.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:28pm

It was really hard to move, I had to start over a few times to move the character and then I got caught. Love the title though!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:11am

Like you pointed out game is a bit rough around the edges but the idea looks pretty solid. Reminds me of pacman a little bit but with the enemies kind of kiteable as they dont have to follow paths. Would be good to see what this had been like with more time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]