August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Baldaquin

by Marcellus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello everyone and thanks for being washed up here.

This is my very first game I hope you'll be indulgent.

I made it in about 44 hours, using construct 2, windows recorder, paint.net, MS paint, LMMS, a lot of beer and a site to convert .wma in .wav.

The source of my inspiration is the garden I have before my eyes and all my friends settled here for the last few days.

The controls are pretty basics WASD for movement, click to throw stuff at enemies and dodge the bullets they send you.

The Final Boss is pretty easy but every attempt I did to balance him made him absolutely un-kill-able. I guess It's better this way then, this game is not about dying bazillion times.

I'm sorry about the lame theme approach but, as a first game, I had to learn how to use my tools and It took me about half the time I had to make a game. Better work next time I hope.


PS : Stay a while in game after the "End" to see credits.


Kind regards,
M.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#91Humor3.44
#506Audio2.63
#680Mood2.57
#812Fun2.63
#900Graphics2.30
#992Theme2.59
#1043Innovation2.20
#1051Overall2.46

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice first entry! The boss is great!

wtfrara says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

404 on Dropbox. :\

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I think it bugged out for me. All I got was a gray screen with some particle effects. :(

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

404, will check back

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I got a 404 error when I tried to play it.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I don't understand, all my friends could play without any problem.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

I uploaded it on Kong, and it worked fine when I played it.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Pretty fun for your first game! I quite liked the sound design - it made nailing a row of jocks feel really rewarding ;)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I LOVE FIRST ENTRIES. I ALSO LOVE IT WHEN ENEMIES SEND ME BULLETS. BULLETS ARE MY FAVOURITE GIFT.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I enjoyed this. It's a game that knows it isn't the best and embraces it. I really liked the humour and the simplicity of it. It took me way too long to figure out to shoot at your face rather than just at the impending apocalypse.

Overall good first entry, the first entry is always the hardest!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Bass sound when dying was really loud, the voices were fun for sure. Looked like paint was used for art, but had an interesting concept. I've never thrown apples at people in a game before haha!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

That was actually fairly difficult. The enjoyed the last boss. the "kill enemy" noise drove me crazy after the first 5 times I heard it.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I'm sound designer and you made me laugh :D 5/5 humor :D Good work !

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02pm

thanks all for your comments, about the sound volumes, I really couldn't manage to balance everything as I could only try the game on my own computer (and it sounded fine but with too low volume).
Yes I used paint for about everything since it's the only picture software I know how to use. I'm not really a drawer.
Also I had no time to do better gfx, my only regret is that I wanted more of them. About one for every ingame action. But I had no microphone but the one next to my webcam on my laptop, and recording myself hitting an apple with a stick to get a "on hit" sound was pretty dangerous for my screen, so I had to abandon the idea.

ben says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Cool feel, Great work with the audio, I laughed out loud a couple of times

aglushakov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice entry!

I really like sounds, they are very fun :)

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Haha, funny game. The gameplay was quite nice and cool boss-fight.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Ready? Goooo!
Ahah I loved the sounds.
Good job.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15pm

This is something :D love the voices. the hand drawing give it irreplaceable feeling

proc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Some of my favourite audio and humour. A boss fight to go into the gaming hall of fame. Reminded me of the gameboy camera games. Good fun, make more!

fgielow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Good first entry Man!
I think the sounds are very funny XD
Nice work for one man in 44 hours.

Aslai says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:39am

Haha that boss fight surprised me and I laughed hard all the way through

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:57am

Hmm, couldn't get past F7 at first. I'll just blame my keyboard and give you the benefit of the doubt. :)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:24am

AHAhaha what am I playing???
It's pretty amusing anyway! Absurd but amusing!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:27am

Ok the boss just scared the shit out of me >:[

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:36pm

F7? Why such a strange key? Especially since it's hard to use on a laptop.

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:53pm

44 hours you say? Don't you ever sleep or something? :D
You should suggest that to NASA - preventing an apocalypse with apples ^^

Marcellus says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Isn't it the point of the ludumdare X-Or ?

Jayjay says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:00am

Nice to see a fellow Construct user =D funny game too :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]