August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Delayed

by Jordo76 - Jam Entry

Data transfer in the early years of the computer was slow, you're a Bit travelling to his destination, but you're having trouble moving with the 10 seconds of delay the data transfer is giving.
The game has got 18 levels ranging from easy to very hard and feature a rating at the end of each level.
Take a pen and a paper because at some point in the game you will need them !

This game was made using CraftStudio, the cooperative game-making platform.
To play the game on Windows you need Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
Or to play the game on Mac you need the Mono runtime.

This game was created in 72h by :
-Jordo76 (Coding/Graphics/Levels)
-Thoune (Levels)
-XraYZ (Music) (http://www.youtube.com/user/XraYZmusik)

Special thanks (Ideas/Beta-Testing/Help) :
-elisee (https://twitter.com/elisee)
-Acesential (http://acesential.deviantart.com/)
-Isaiah Kim (http://www.youtube.com/user/isaiahdjkim)
Sounds were made using BFXR.

See you in December guys !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Theme(Jam)3.91
#80Innovation(Jam)3.55
#112Audio(Jam)3.41
#197Overall(Jam)3.32
#236Mood(Jam)3.07
#251Fun(Jam)3.02
#328Humor(Jam)2.28
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14am

Really love the idea and execution behind this. For the early levels, 10 seconds was quite a long time to wait but once you got further into the game it really was a nice mechanic.

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Hmm, how do I start the Linux version? Delayed.exe doesn't work with Wine or Mono...

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Great concept! Graphics and audio were also good :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

You're sure it's 10 seconds? It's really nice idea, simple but great. Good job.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

the game mechanic is nice yes, it's a frustrating game... but not in a bad way :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

It was interesting, and the audio was cool!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Although it was quite a neat concept and idea, and executed quite well. It just wasn't that fun to me personally.

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Good use of the theme. I frequently found myself counting ahead as I play.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44am

Phew! I beat it! This is a cute idea, though I think the game is kind of inherently flawed since there's no danger. It can get a bit confusing if you make a mistake and you're still playing out a long sequence of inputs, but all you need to do is wait for 10 seconds and then continue from that spot. It's kind of fun to try to get way ahead of the bit, though, and that's what I was doing most of the time.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

Fun but I got very bored waiting for my character to finally move and I would have liked a timer in the corner that told me how long i had to wait.

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54am

@DaVince : Mmmm, I've no idea what's the problem :/
@killerstarbunny : I thinked of this but I scraped it for the simple reason that to win the game (have 5 stars on levels) you need to plan ahead everything, if you did you wouldn't have to wait because it would start while you were still pressing the keys for the next moves 10 seconds after the one happening right now.
That's why I mention a pen and a paper, at some point in the game (especially the last level) you'll need to draw the level and which button open which door to have 5 stars.

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25am

Absolutely fanatic game, best one I've played so far.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20am

couldn't get it to run. rate my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

markengley says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Nice idea :)

Nick Cash says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

A very nice entry! Levels felt varied and fairly interesting, and it is always nice to play a game with music and sound effects. Art was good as well. Might have been nice to have some sort of display of the inputs that you gave and their timers, but waiting 10 seconds isn't that hard either and encourages one to be precise. Overall a very complete entry; good work guys!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Good concept. I didn't like it at first, but it warms up to you. I don't know if a countdown timer on the player piece or in the corner would make the waiting better or worse. :) On Mac the game froze on level Prison after attempting a third restart or so. Just a spinning rainbow while the music continued.

mechagk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Now the only enemy is your own ability to navigate a level :P
I like it!

crazyrems says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very well thought ! A good puzzle game about 10 seconds =)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:48pm

It doesn't make a game run on Linux if you package an archive with the Windows executable and the dlls. I could not emulate it using Wine.

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Like a REALLY laggy version of Chips Challenge! Love it!

The disconnect between your button presses and the action on screen causes this incredible sense of anxiety - "Did I do it right? Did I screw up?" - and as you watch it play out, and your ball turns around at the last second and goes the wrong way because you lost count...

Mechanically, this game is so simple and clever, it's just about flawless. I just would have liked to see more done with the graphics. The fact that your character is just a circle is just a bit of a let down, but otherwise, it's a fantastic game.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Ehehe, this game tested my...hand-hand(?) coordination because I was pointing my finger at the screen the entire time and ignoring the actual bit xD
Make you feel a bit insecure at times(what if wrong input... *sweats nervously*)
Other than that, great concept and music!

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Good take on the theme. Having to dissociate your thought between "what did I do and where will I be" and "did I did that correctly" was quite brain-intensive, in a good way.

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Oh wow... these ten seconds definitely felt long the first levels, when you already finished, but your bit didn't even start to move yet. I think the tilebased levels totally messed with my eyes "5 tiles? no, wait... 6?"

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:49pm

One of the best take on theme I saw so far. I really enjoyed playing this. And damn it is hard to control without really seeing what you're doing.

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Even after installing XNA and redownloading the game, it didn't work. I'm terribly sorry, because I seriously wanted to try this...

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great game! You and I had similar ideas, but I think yours ended up being a lot more fun!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Very cool game! Also, very challenging! The 10 seconds delay is a good mechanic, but also makes the game very hard.
The pen and paper thing wasn't a joke! =P
I'll save it to finish it later. =)

Good work!

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Great use of the theme, even if it does become frustrating.

motty says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:24pm

This is my sad Linux user face :(

Wanted a go on this, Linux version does not work. Or, indeed, appear to be a Linux version, being a package of dlls with an exe. Adding a couple of Linux LUA libraries doesn't help. And I have lua on my machine. Source maybe?

jwolf says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:03am

That's a really neat idea you have there. The aesthetics are pretty nice, too.

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:27am

You guys made me stay on the menu listening to the song... great stuff!
Two way was the real start of the game. Until then, it was a nice idea... but having to ignore your movements being shown and focusing on the action was great.

euske says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:26pm

It gets really tedious. I gave up after 15 levels or so.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:42pm

It was a little slow at first but it catches up after a few levels. (a Delay if you will. :P) Though counting tiles gets a little tedious and it's frustrating when I miscount and have to restart if I want 5 stars. The music didn't get repetitive though and probably helped me stay calm. There was a certain amount of polish on this game that can't be seen with screenshots. Also the little messages were a nice touch lightening the mood of the game and kinda peeks into your teams mind like what kind of jokes you might have made while working on it.

-AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]