August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RPG - Random Battle: Evolution

by Yaguar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Random battles aren't so random when they evolve. Welcome to 10 second hell!

A fast paced RPG with quick access menu system and old school Track & Field style combat.

Battle your way through enemies, every 10 seconds, more will come if you let the first live! Watch you don't become overrun and fall to a mobbing.

Reach the Ogre Queen and defeat her! Because that is what heroes do.

Failure will result in your Grandma's kidnapping by Goblins. Just think about poor old granny doing goblin washing... Poor woman.

The game works best with a control pad (supported in web player too)

AS REQUESTED! Here is a how to guide which elaborates on the poor tutorial (sorry for that!)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xeQJcdA3h70

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#302Audio2.98
#397Humor2.55
#700Graphics2.65
#726Innovation2.75
#876Theme2.79
#899Overall2.69
#913Mood2.23
#1023Fun2.27

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

I didn't rate it because I'm having trouble playing... seems to not work great with the keyboard/mouse (no gamepad, sorry!).

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Was interesting although a bit hard at start (without a controller at least). Nice one :)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Is it even possible to mash buttons fast enough to survive even the first enemy? I'm so confused. The tutorial doesn't clarify anything for me. Sweet tunes, though.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

I really like the idea. It seems like you really have to mash the buttons super quickly to win even the first battle though. I really wanted to see the town too.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

Can't connect to the site hosting the web version.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04am

Fun game, I like the idea of slow battles leading to more enemies coming into the fray!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

Confusing gameplay but i like the visual style.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

The battles are way too confusing and I can only manage the first enemy. I need like a video or something to understand how it should play. That or a controller maybe.

FreeToCry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

http://i.imgur.com/qIsHkZp.jpg

Get on my level scrubs.

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Game doesn't load, I always get an "Unable to download data files" error

GoGoGoymer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

The controls where a little tricky to work out but once I got use to it I found the game really fun.

I love the track and field button mash style of things and the challenge kept me playing.

The game got a lot easier once I figure out I had to spend stat points and I had unlimited potions lol.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Wow that was pretty hard. Works well with the pad although the instructions were for playstation pad I think? Good way to use the theme and I really like the central idea for it.

sebb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

This is hard! :D i love the cube graphics

Yaguar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Since it looks like a lot of people are lost by my inability to put together a tutorial I'll draw something up tonight when I'm home from the office.

The biggest tip will be using your stat points (you get 5 right at the start) is important. Big lesson learnt about walking the player though for me. Thanks for the feedback guys!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I dont think I quite understood how to play the game, though I love the cube graphics!! It was really nice to look at, but my poor granny will be doing the wash for ages!! I did feature it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

Raitaro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Fingers ache, never leaving the town again :D

Yaguar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xeQJcdA3h70

It is in the top but here is an extra link. Quick "How To" which should elaborate on the poor tutorial.
Sorry if the balance is a little off for some people. It was intended to be difficult but it seems a little too steep in some cases.

Manoloko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Feels that it could be great fun, but it's really hard to get into it. Would need a slower learning curve, but I know it's very hard to achieve this in a 48hour compo.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:40am

Awesome way to end the tutorial section.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Very hard to play but good idea !

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Solid adveturer! The control-"twist" is interesting.

Love the music, it fits quite well. The low-fi-artstyle works quite well too :=

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:25am

it was real hard until I dumped all my points into attack.

I had a fun time with your entry. nice work and the music was over the top awesome.

and that dick kick is going micro viral among my friends at the bar.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Web version doesn't work

Chrome, OSX

Yaguar says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Hi Linus,

Just checked web version from my Mac on Chrome, was okay for me.
Could have been that the server went down for a little bit. I'll check in to that.

Thanks.

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Fun game! It was a bit hard getting started but was worth the effort.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]