August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Usain Bolt's Super Shopping Sprint

by Bekokstover - Jam Entry

This is a COMPO game, but for some reason got pushed to JAM. Created by myself in less than 48 hours.

You are Usain Bolt, the world's fastest man on the 100m sprint. You've set the world record in only 9:58, and now you get to use that same amount of time to shop for free at a local local store! Lucky you.

Run, collect as many valuable items as you can, and reach the finish as fast as possible too.

This is my very first finished game! Made in Game Maker 7.5.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Theme(Jam)3.90
#21Humor(Jam)3.95
#56Fun(Jam)3.60
#96Overall(Jam)3.55
#196Mood(Jam)3.17
#215Audio(Jam)3.05
#243Graphics(Jam)3.45
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice, but rather short, game :)
I love the little pixelated Bolt guy doing his "archer" thingie :P
I think you should try to get some sort of Win/Unix version out... Mac only is a really small target audience...

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Now with a Windows version, courtesy of Aran Koning! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Ha, this is a fun idea. Fits perfectly for "10 seconds" :P

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Usain Bolt really likes guitars. Very nice game overall.

calpolhouse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Pretty Fun :)

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

I laughed out loud.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49am

Haha I have to love a fellow Usain Bolt related game developer! Even though I'm obviously biased, this is a really neat game, although a couple of extra levels could increase it's longevity. Nice gameplay!

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

Thanks! Yeah, I'd mostly like to add some more items. More levels after that. And some level geometry sprites. But 48 hours fly by.... :)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Thanks a lot for the windows version. The Idea is super-stupid-brilliant. Imagine the whole life of a sprinter works like that m)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

This is a lot of fun actually, despite being so short! (Well, but otherwise they'd go bankrupt, I guess!) The graphics are charming, and the cheering fits the game so well that the absence of music is hardly noticeable. The sound effects work well.

Why are there three different screen switch buttons? From Restart Screen to starting the race, I have to press: R, Space and X. Since there's never really a choice between two options, all of these might've been Space.

My top score so far: 8068. There were a LOT of time bonuses in this level :D

Cheers mate, superb game! And congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

PS: I found two "secret" passages! Not that they did me any good...

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

@TobiasW Thanks for the praise, dude. The whole game actually only has one background sound, ripped from a YouTube video. But it worked so well, I decided not to put any time into fumbling around with it :)

I guess you're right about the 3 button approach, it could have been two (not one, I do like the fast restart option). I will change this in the next version.

:) yes, there are 2 secret passages... and they can boost your time bonus! I hid them because them were confusing my test player about where to go. She failed to get to the finish. But this works for now, I guess.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11pm

It's fine to have a restart button, but it should be used to restart the game while playing - not to restart it from the restart screen. That's what I mean: One button to advance between the screens. An additional button to force a restart from the game is obviously fine.

I might try using the passages later to check how good they are. The first one seems rather useless though, there is no way you're gonna have enough items at that point to make use of the time bonus.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:44pm

A wonderful idea! A bit short to play though. :)

Norgg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice, played it through several times until I hit the big bucks. It ends up being mostly down to being lucky with what items spawn but it's still really fun.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Hahahahaha, very nice but short game. I'm really surprise that someone might grab the fact that Usain Bolt's time record would be a good use in the game. Great work!

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Hehe, short, silly and rather fun :)

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:48pm

ahahaha!)))
super!
best game I've seen yet on LD27 )

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Vet spel Sjors!
I think this is the funniest concept I've seen this Ludum Dare. Finding the balance between grabbing items and getting a good time bonus is fun!

Got a lot of clocks and some guitars one run, my best score was 8764 points.

Bekokstover says ...
Oct 14, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Thanks Jaj! Means a lot, really.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]