August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Astronaut - First LD!

by Slader16 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cave Astronaut-
Is about an astronaut that is exploring an alien planet, but soon find's out that it is already inhabited - BY ROBOTS!


Hi, I'm Collin Clifton:
This is my first Ludum Dare entry, And my first game.
I was going for a Spelunky meets Capsized style.

It fits the theme "10 Seconds" because you have 10 lives, hence 10 "Second Chances".


The robots projectiles were all supposed to be shooting forward, but I didn't have enough time to finish it.
Press "Q" to restart the level :D

Please e-mail me at slader155@gmail to submit a bug report, thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#930Audio1.47
#1073Mood1.59
#1156Coolness48%
#1164Graphics1.61
#1164Fun1.78
#1168Theme1.82
#1194Innovation1.50
#1198Overall1.76

Comments

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Your download is missing the assets folder I think.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Doesnt start: There should be 'Cave AstronautStandalone_Data'
folder next to the executable

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I could not get this game to run I'm afraid. I came into the following error when I tried to run the exe:

"There should be 'Cave AstronautStandalone_Data'
folder next to the executable"

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Ditto for me :(

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Sorry about that guys, I fixed it :D

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Got a bug and couldn't continue. Astronaut went way too high and into the blue unity abyss.

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I'll work on a fix for it Feysoura :D

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Feysoura the fix is up now, That was a bug that I noticed but I forgot to fix, Sorry!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Seems to work now :)
Though I can press up to fly into the sky and I seem to have a lot more than 10 lives, I seem to be able to die however many times I want :P
Its playable and all though, managed to win, so good job for first try :D

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Thanks for the awesome feedback Tifu!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Congrats on your firsts, Collin Clifton.

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

btw the reason why he can keep on jumping is that he was supposed to have a jetpack, I just didn't have enough time to model it. :p

phaed says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Congratulations on finishing! I definitely hit some weird collision detection bugs. Knocking over dalek-creatures is fun.

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Keep at it!

Slader16 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

phaed- Knocking down and shooting them across the map is my favorite part in the game :P

Dark Acre Jack- Thanks!

olafurw- I definitely will man!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Honest congratulations! As or fist game (and compo) you did good job! Keep it up!!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

could not get passed the first few enemies. kept getting stuck on the ceiling and dying. good try though. much sleep to you.

VDZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I'll give my honest thoughts: The game is a buggy mess with no challenge, ugly graphics, and barely any content (there's only one level and it's really short), and it has nothing to do with the theme.

But everybody starts out making shitty games. Keep making games and you'll improve over time.

Slader16 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55pm

@VDZ I appreciate your honesty!

@Pinktreeleaf there is a lot of sleep in my future :P

@doonay21 Thanks, I will!

Slader16 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27pm

If anybody finds a bug please press "Q" to restart the level and e-mail me at: slader155@gmail.com

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:21pm

I wasn't sure what was killing me but I love the idea of Spelunky meets Capsized so keep working on it!

Slader16 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

@tripleVisionGames lol the robot models did look really rushed. I think that I am going to continue the game and build off of Spelunky meets Capsized.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The idea for the theme was good.

Slader16 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@Nick Weihs, Thanks!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Not bad for a first game, but still far from being any good, in larger scale, sorry to say that. Good luck on your next ludum dares.

Slader16 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:12am

@CustomPhase: I agree that it's really far off from being a large scale game, so it's all good :P
I'm really looking forward to December's Ludum Dare!

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:46pm

On mountain Lion I try to open the game and nothing happens.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Congrats on ur first entry.
The game needs a lot of work, but i liked the way i can toss enemies with my bullets.. work the controls more enjoyable

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice first Ludum Dare entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]